TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"But once I hop on my train of thought, I get back in - PRONTO - to collect myself. There's really nothing you can do to help..."

Friday, Apr. 25, 2008 - 4:25 p.m.

So I was sitting in a grant review for work thinking, "Lord, are you trying to tell me something?!?!?"

It just felt weird as hell 'cause I actually knew what the hell they were talking about! Like, these are dedicated researchers and active clinicians, yet what they were presenting, I totally got.

I guess it's because I work with their grants everyday and actually take the time to read some of their research but I know it's also because I care to learn about it.

I just can't imagine my life had I stayed in the pre-med program at my alma mater. At the time, it just wasn't me. Even now, I don't feel like I need to be doing anything related to medicine.

But at the same time, I remember how I used to feel as a little youngin': 9 years old, letting EVERYBODY who asked (and even those who didn't) know that I was going to be an OBSTETRICIAN! I was going to take care of women while they were pregnant and deliver their babies - for free if I could! It wasn't going to be about the millions of dollars (psht!) I would make as a "doctor". It was going to be about bringing a new life into the world. I wanted to be the one to pat the baby on the butt and make them cry to get their first breath of fresh air since I'd been told many times the story of how, when I was born, the doctor had to hit me three times because even though I was wide awake and had even turned over and pushed my torso up off the table with my little arms and started looking all around the room, I refused to cry when the doctor hit me. So because of that, I wanted to be the one to hit the baby on the butt.

One of my uncles, to this DAY, repeats the mantra, "You was supposed to be a doctor!". Woulda been the first one in my family, matter fact.

Oh well. Everybody has their path.

But damn, that meeting today? I just kept feeling this feeling like I was sitting there for a REASON.

Time will tell.

Ahhh, the weekend is here. What is I'm gon' do?!

Well, I've already been told, in a totally WHINY voice, that I "gooottttaaaa goooo" to a young man's graduation from college tomorrow morning at 8:30am! I don't know him well but I am personally acquainted with him because he's my aunt's best friend's "adopted" child. The reason I feel bad about not going, if I don't, is because he's autistic and it is such a wonderful achievement for him to be receiving a Bachelor's Degree that he earned through hard work and perseverance, ya know? But at the same time, I don't know him well, have only met him two or three times... I'm TIRED. I haven't had a weekend to myself in FOREVER! Geez!

But then I want to take my little cuzins to the children's museum 'cause they're having a (FREE) event and my one little cuzin LOVES that place. That would be tomorrow, early afternoon.

AND THEN, tomorrow night, I'm supposed to go see Ma.lcolm J.ama.l Wa.rne.r perform at this poetry spot (Real's spot - Btw, I saw Real last week and he gave me the cutest little hug! LOL!).

So to be running around from at least 7:30am to after midnight, I am not looking forward to. Then again, it's all worthy stuff so... I'on know.

Anywhoo, just wanted to jump on for a minute and ramble. Gotta run.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"Until the end of time, I'll be there for you. You are my heart and mind. I truly adore you." - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2016
"Don't touch what's there...when it's the feelings I wear..." - Saturday, Oct. 08, 2016
"I will enter his gates with thanksgiving in my heart, I will enter his courts with praise." - Friday, Oct. 07, 2016
"I tried to run it away. Thought then my head'd be feeling clearer...." - Tuesday, Oct. 04, 2016
"Boy, your money and my money? Ain't the same damn kind. I can live your life and my life AT THE SAME DAMN TIME!" - Sunday, Oct. 02, 2016