TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"Let me see you bounce right to left and let ya showlda lean...showlda lean...showlda lean..."

2007-02-20 - 5:16 p.m.

Okay, I would be LYING if I said I wasn't feelin' myself last night.

So I went out with Miss E and Dee. We went to a poetry spot. It was one of the promoters' birthdays. Even though he and I are not cool like that, whenever we see each other in the streets, we speak. He's helped me out in some situations based on that too, so it's all good. I had a feeling the night would be good 'cause everybody loves him so I figured they would come out to support what he was doing and it would be a good time.

I was right.

But let me back up for a second.

I got home yesterday and decided that I wanted to go out to a lil' hood store and get me something cheap to wear for the night. I was there for like, AN HOUR! LOL!, and I only walked out with some earrings, a tank top and a hooded sweater. I wasn't quite sure what I would do with that combo, if I would wear any of it at all but I figured hey, I'd just make whatever work.

So i got home and I put the tank on - that wasn't working. I ended up wearing the hooded sweater and the earrings. I threw on my favorite jeans of the moment and it all came together perfectly.

I headed out to meet Miss E and Dee and we got to the spot nice and early - the reward being free entry (YAY!) and prime seating.

A little after we got settled in, my boy Gil rolled up in the spot. Me and Gil have a strange friendship goin' on. LOL! I've known him since high school. I think he knows that I know he is "not straight" but that I would never call him out on it or treat him any differently because of it. I actually know a couple of guys who know I know they are probably gay but they also know I won't say anything to them about it so we have a comfortable friendship. We talk about everything and everything is just real comfortable.

So yeah, Gil came and sat with us. Little did we know that Gil recently won a slam competition, right? So now, our table is the damn center of attention. And because of my placement at the damn table and my slammin' outfit, I was the focus of whoever got up to perform the whole night.

There were only male poets performing so.... LOL! Yeah!

First up actually ended up being Gil. That was funny 'cause everybody was thinkin' the poem had to do somethin' with me. LOL!!! Little do THEY know.

The feature of the night, it was funny 'cause I kept catching him looking at me. He finally got up to do his pieces. One of 'em, he had a line that said, "And now...now, I got a GOOD black woman." He went on to say how she was good to him, etc., etc. But when he said, "And now..." He hesitated and he smiled at me. LOL!!!!! I wanted to die laughin'. THAT was funny.

But yeah, that was a nice boost to my self-esteem, goin' out there last night. I just got waaaay too much attention from too many different people ("HOT!!!!" - LOL!!) for no reason, right?

Riiigggghhhttt... LOL!

And Big Boy #2? Officially a stalker. No, I mean offficially. No question.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"Until the end of time, I'll be there for you. You are my heart and mind. I truly adore you." - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2016
"Don't touch what's there...when it's the feelings I wear..." - Saturday, Oct. 08, 2016
"I will enter his gates with thanksgiving in my heart, I will enter his courts with praise." - Friday, Oct. 07, 2016
"I tried to run it away. Thought then my head'd be feeling clearer...." - Tuesday, Oct. 04, 2016
"Boy, your money and my money? Ain't the same damn kind. I can live your life and my life AT THE SAME DAMN TIME!" - Sunday, Oct. 02, 2016