TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"Love, never knew what I was missing"

2005-04-20 - 8:15 p.m.

So I have an interview on Tuesday for a full-time position with benefits (what?! - LOL!).

The money is, eh, oookaaayyy, meaning not the greatest, especially for the level I'm tryin' to be livin' at (i.e. payin' certain bills up for the year and movin' out!) but it ain't the bottom of the barrell either.

The problem is I know if I focused and got something in the IT field, I could be makin' some moniez. The problem with that problem is that I know I would not be happy in that kind of position.

The position I have an interview for (which I applied for through monster.com yesterday afternoon and got a reply this morning) is for a well-known nonprofit (and I know what I said about no longer working for nonprofits but, like I said, this one is well-known and well-supported so I know won't be no funny business when it comes to my damn check) and I, for one, actually take joy in working for an organization which makes an impact on the community, especially a group in the community which sometimes goes ignored. My best friend calls it "humanitarian stuff". I like the sound of that.

Anyway, if I were to get the position (which I have to pray about - I need to make sure that me and God are on the same page here), I would have to abandon the theatre during the daytime (which was my schedule when I first began working at the theatre) and also give up the 1-hour tutoring situation. The latter hurts my feelings more. I really like those kids and would genuinely feel bad about leaving them...

But on the real, I need a job. A full-time job. A full-time job that pays on time. A full-time job that pays on time and offers benefits. Yeah, it's about that time.

In other news, a grandfather of one of the kids tried to holla yesterday. I told J about it and she spoke the words that were already in my mind, "I don't know why old men feel it okay to try and holla at you." She said it's because I have an old soul. Has to be something. I mean, he's a geezer. Nice truck, but a geezer nonetheless (I know!! LOL!). Got a cane, a head full of gray hair and everything. And I have NEVER given him the impression that I'm feeling him like that. All I have EVER said to him is "How ya doin'?" in passing and a short (like three sentences) discussion about his grandson's behavior in my class. The whole scenario is just funny to me. LOL!

And yeah, I'ma be the first person up in Target (okay, I lie!) on June 7th when Keyshia Cole's album, The Way It Is, comes out. I've been listening to that female on Radio@AOL and all the songs I've heard so far ("I Should've Cheated", "We Could Be", "Love", even "I Changed My Mind") are just the bomb. Really. I'm feeling her.

Okay, so why did I walk into a basically free-standing ('cause I thought they only existed in malls) Bath & Body Works and smell these candles that made me have an out-of-body experience, imagining myself both soaking in the tub in my future home and walking across the hardwood floor of my den, watching the muslin curtains sway from the gentle breeze flowing in from the window of my own personal abode. Mayn! Whoo! I almost had to shout up in Bath & Body Works! Especially after I saw the price tag on them damn candles.

But yeah, I ain't gon' lie. That's one of the main reasons I sat down and applied myself to the job search (online, anyway). Yeah, I need to get my own place just so I can burn me some expensive ass candles while lounging around naked, breathing in the calming scent without any distraction.

One day.........

Soon.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"Until the end of time, I'll be there for you. You are my heart and mind. I truly adore you." - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2016
"Don't touch what's there...when it's the feelings I wear..." - Saturday, Oct. 08, 2016
"I will enter his gates with thanksgiving in my heart, I will enter his courts with praise." - Friday, Oct. 07, 2016
"I tried to run it away. Thought then my head'd be feeling clearer...." - Tuesday, Oct. 04, 2016
"Boy, your money and my money? Ain't the same damn kind. I can live your life and my life AT THE SAME DAMN TIME!" - Sunday, Oct. 02, 2016