TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"Let's talk about love: Is it anything and everything you hoped for?"

Thursday, Feb. 22, 2018 - 5:51 p.m.


Last week, at a dinner for a second cousin, I was standing behind one of my aunts, as she carried one of her younger grandsons. All of a sudden, it really hit me that my auntie is a grandma. I was like, "Auntie Bobo! I can't believe you're really a grandma!" LOL

It wasn't until later that I understood what it was that actually "hit me". It was actually the realization that I never had that experience. I never had a grandma relationship. My mom's mother died when she was 2. My dad's mother lives in Africa. So I never got to experience being a granddaughter to a grandma. I never missed it because I had never seen it up close. None of my immediate family (mom, her siblings; my cousins) - none of us have a had a grandma in the time I've been able to remember anything. My mom's grandma was alive until I was 4, but I don't remember her at all, unfortunately.

So none of us were walking around with a grandma while the rest didn't have one. I mean, a couple of my cousins' fathers' mothers were alive, but they didn't have relationships with them. So, yeah. All of us have been walking around, basically grandma-less. So to see my Auntie Bobo as a grandma, her grandkids calling her grandma... It just made me realize that that was a relationship that has never and will never exist in my life. It's a little sad but I'm extremely happy for her and her grandchildren. I love to hear them call her, "Grandma!" It's such a precious feeling.

Praying I have kids that get to experience that with my mom. Praying hard.

On another note, a few weeks ago, I came across a job I would be interested in. Made a mental note to apply - even sent the job link to myself that day (it was a Friday, if I'm not mistaken). Of course, I forgot all about it.

Today at a meeting, I thought about a word I'd like to change on my resume. Came outta nowhere. OF COURSE, when I went to change that word, I decided to give my resume a little more pep in a few other areas. Of course, that led to me remembering the job opportunity. I was sure it was no longer on the website but checked just to see. It was still there. Long story short: I applied.

Curious to see what happens next.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"And sometimes, u wonder why he allows u to go through what u go through...." - Monday, May. 28, 2018
"In the name of dancehall, shake the nerves off!" - Monday, May. 14, 2018
"Skies will change; the sun remains. Still, I'll be grateful - thankful when it rains..." - Friday, May. 11, 2018
"'Cause on a day like this, u might miss all the kisses that I gave u." - Wednesday, Mar. 21, 2018
"So, what's going on sugar? How is ur life baby? It's so good to be back..." - Monday, Mar. 12, 2018