TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"Don't wake me: I'm dreaming!!"

Tuesday, Sept. 12, 2017 - 5:06 p.m.

Whew. What a weekend.

Hurricane Irma made her presence known in a major way over the past week, but mainly this past Sunday. There was so much hysteria, mostly fueled by the media. GET READY! LEAVE! YOU'LL DIE IF YOU STAY! LEAVE! LEAVE NOW!! EVACKALATE!!!!

Chyle. I did everything I could to remain calm. I avoided the news and proceeded to continue living my life like nothing was going to happen. I'm not exactly sure why, either. I had no premonitions. I felt that God was going to protect us. I know from the past that storms turn, weaken, do everything but what they are expected to do by the time they get to Miami. I also remembered that we "survived" aka "made it through" Andrew. I mean, there was damage, there was lack of electricity for weeks (Wilma, too), there were harrowing moments when the winds were at a fever-pitch. But we made it then. I guess I figured we could make it again.

I didn't want to leave our housem mainly because I wanted to be home, comfortable, lying in my own bed. But my mama takes whatever the news or people on facebook say as the way it is going to be so, rather than watch her cry about being scared at home, I agreed that we would go to her sister's house to ride out the storm. My mama packed up that house like we were moving. LOLOL I mean, if it could be packed away, she packed it a-damn-way! Far and beyond the "important papers". Everything got packed somewhere, even the pictures and plaquest on the walls! I couldn't bring myself to lift a finger for all of the reasons previously mentioned, but also because I felt in my heart that she was seriously overreacting.

And in the end, I was right. She couldn't wait to get home and see the house underwater. I think she was slightly disappointed to find it dry, in fact. LOL

We had a good time at my auntie's house though. I slept like a LOG. Three hour naps at a time and all through the night with only a few wakeups in between. One time, I woke up and everyone was telling me how they had just come in from outside during the storm. I thought they were joking because I hadn't heard a thing. But nope, I was knocked out that doggone hard. I needed all of that rest. Avolit!

The power being out has been the only bothersome part of this experience. But for me, it wasn't that bad. My body temperature has really been on point so while everyone else was completely miserable, I was only mildly bothered. Not enough to be angry. And then power at my mom's house came on last night about 11:30pm so all was right with the world.

Didn't want to come to work today but being that this would be the only day I'd be at work this week, I drug it in. Then halfway through the day, the flight for my worktrip got cancelled. So I coulda stayed home since I'll be at work the rest of the week. But, dah well. What can ya do. I'm getting ready to leave in a few minutes, so it's all good. I was slightly looking forward to solo-touring DC this weekend but hadn't made any plans whatsoever, not even where to stay. So all's well that ends well, indeed.

Anywhoo, heading home now. Now that most of my shows are no longer on television, I'm going to try to cut it a little bit out of my life. Not that it's been consuming me - I mostly have BET Soul playing in the background of me laying in the bed as soon as I get home until I go to sleep. But I guess I want to try not even turning it on as much to discourage me from laying in the bed all evening. I can be up, writing or going to the gym or doing yoga or preparing for the next day. There's lots I could be doing other than laying down, not really relaxing because I'm anxious of all the things I should be doing but am not.

I'll write about that another day. Bye.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"Be, now, with us." - Monday, Nov. 13, 2017
"I'm not saying that u should just rush & give me ur heart. I'm just asking that u like me real hard. Just like me real hard." - Tuesday, Oct. 24, 2017
"I got my money & I got my whiskey. Tonight, I'm gonna get reallll tipsy!" - Saturday, Oct. 14, 2017
"The things you do for me, oh baby...you make me feel SO GOOD!" - Wednesday, Sept. 27, 2017
"Well, I just wanna let u know...u r...my one, Champion Lover." - Tuesday, Sept. 26, 2017