TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"When you don't have to think about it... Love me at the ungodly hour."

Tuesday, May. 10, 2022 - 12:05 a.m.

**Written Wednesday, May 5, 2022**

A Friday afternoon.

It had been a flip-flopped morning.  Woke up super early to submit something for work then laid back down.  In turn, got up for the day super late.  Mom and I picked up breakfast at noon, came to my house to eat that.  Then headed to another spot to pick up a plate my mom could have for dinner later.

Got to the spot, which is a place I hadn't been to in years.  Years; at least 5 or 6.  But after some recent family discussions about it, had to make the stop.  I'd forgotten the experience is why I stopped going.  Long lines, heat, inefficient slow service.  No wonder it had been a while.

Stood in line with my phone and patience for the upcoming wait.  It had to have been 20mins when a somewhat older lady came cursing out the door, a somehwat older man following behind her.  A young guy in line encouraged them to be respectful.  He reminded them they left a line of people who still had to go inside.  I appreciated that note being that I was one of those people.

Had to have been another ten minutes when I was finally crossing the threshold.  It was hotter inside than outside.  Lawd.  As I continued waiting, noticed another young man in the line start to leave.  He was leaving from the cash register, which didn't make a lick of sense to me seeing that he had waited so long in the line.  Then I realized maybe it was a money issue.  The same young guy who'd tried to calm the rowdy customers down called the young man back from leaving.  He told the young guy to cashapp him and he'd in turn pay for the food with his card.

I thought that was so nice and thoughtful.  People don't have to be nice.  I love to see it when it happens.  Was telling myself to say something to him, encouraging he continue that behavior.  Went back and forth about what I was going to do before deciding to go through with it.

His back was to me.  I was going to tap him but I know I don't like strangers touching me.  So I said, "excuse me".  He turned around and I told him that was very nice and positive what he'd done.  He told me people have been telling him that since he was a child.  I said well then it's evident.  He said people are always asking him what his sign is.  So I asked what is it?  "God."  That gave me a good chuckle.  His food was up so he turned to get it all.  After getting his stuff, he stopped by to tell me thank you and that he would take me out to lunch when I'm ready.

I was caught off guard by that because typically, the response to a compliment is a simple "thank you".  I also see an offer for lunch or dinner as a lil flirty.  So I was genuinely confused.  Even more so when he walked away completely after saying that.  I took it as he meant if we ever bumped into each other again, we'd exchange numbers then.  Or whatever, I don't know.  Again, genuinely confused.  But he was just going to put his food down before coming back to actually get my number.

Almost forgot to mention that I was in no way attracted to this young man.  One, I perceived him as young - like late 20s/early 30s.  Two, his hair was in a local style that I'm not a fan of.  Three, I wasn't looking at him like that.  At all.  Matter of fact, I had my work persona on.  Fourthly, I was dressed completely down in an outfit not far removed from what I'd wear around the house.  Clothes were not flattering, hair could have at least been styled.  Not the cutest, in my opinion.

So when the offer was made and he came back for my number, I took it as someone who just wanted to discuss positivity in the community or something like that.

Color me shocked when he text me within the hour, asking if we could speak.  Then proceeded to try and holla.  And has continued all through the weekend and up til now, which is why I'm writing about him.  Told me his mother passed very recently with services coming up this weekend.  We are supposed to hang out tomorrow evening but I'll believe it when it happens.  I can't imagine he would have the time.  More importantly, I'm just prepared to be disappointed.  So I'll let him confirm anything for tomorrow.  If he doesn't mention it like he forgot, I'll block him and move on with my life.

These days have been refreshing though.  I cannot tell a doggone lie.  I haven't communicated with an interest like this in a whiiiile.  I think that child when I was buying my car 5 years ago this time may have been the last.  It's fun and breaks up the day.  We've spoken a couple times and it's what a conversation with a Cancer has been in the past for me - mostly listening.

I've enjoyed the attention.  I've enjoyed someone expressing interest.  I've enjoyed the feeling of someone thinking about me.  I've enjoyed having something to look forward to.  But I'm also enjoying it for the time it is.  Whether it's completely temporary or just a long-term flirting.  Whatever it is, I'm enjoying it for what it is.  I refuse to give it more thought or energy than that.  I'm already waking up, looking for a text.  I fall into that so quick.  So I gotta watch that; gotta watch myself with that.

Anywhoo, just wanted to make note of things.  I'd found a reason to not even waste my time: he works at a restaurant.  I imagined him as a line cook but then he told me he's the lead chef and is salaried so he makes alright money.  And can speak about food and drinks, which the universe knows I like.

But again, we'll see if tomorrow happens.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"No more messing around, no more shying away, we're both feeling the same: I want you exclusively." - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2022
"I know what these bodies are for.  You know that my body is yours." - Sunday, Jun. 05, 2022
"Show my love for you... Can I show my love for you?" - Wednesday, May. 25, 2022
"Baby, I thought that we could be. But you made a fool of me. And I cannot believe..." - Tuesday, May. 24, 2022
"I bust the windows outcha car." - Monday, May. 23, 2022