TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"When I'm down out, in love, I want you and need you so bad. And when I'm weak and lonely, you're the best that I ever had. Whoooo!"

Sunday, Mar. 28, 2021 - 9:50 p.m.

Got my first dose of the vaccine!

Toooootally unexpected circumstance. First of all, I didn't want to take it. I feel like this is a worldwide c-o-n-spiracy to inject as many people with microchips or a zombie virus at one time as possible. I makes no apologies - that's my thought process and has been all along. However, my mom was also hesitant to take the shot. That's okay, because she's home all the time.

Me, on the other hand, I'm in seemingly every grocery store in the region for no damn reason. This week alone, I went to three different appointments: the ortho and two hospital-based appointments at two different hospitals. I've gone to three socially-distanced happy hours at restaurants, out to dinner once, a socially-distanced indoor comedy show, I go in to pick up food at restaurants sometimes. For me, I felt like I'd have a chance of contracting the virus just by being out. And from what I'm seeing, locally anyway, the virus is still running rampant. People are still getting very ill, hospitalized and dying. And my family is as anxious as ever to start hanging out again.

So with the news that tomorrow (Monday), FL would allow those 40 years old and up to be vaccinated in combination with my employer offering remote staff the opportunity to get vaccinated, I'd started thinking about going through with it over the past few days.

All that to say, I decided to pick up my mom to go to the store after work on Friday. We were approaching our last week of the Family Fast and needed supplies. Now, doing this meant going all the way to her side of town THEN going shopping after working a full day. I knew I didn't want to be running around all day yesterday (Saturday) because I was going to be attending a baby shower. So I went and picked her up and we went to an Aldi near her. This store is always busy! Parking is always hectic. So we were surprised when we pulled up and all 3 of the spots in front of the door were vacant. We were so happy! LOL

Directly in front of the 3 spaces is the door to a clinic. There was a security guard, a clinic staff person and 2 or 3 other people talking out front of the clinic door. My mom said, "I know they giving the vaccine in there." I was like, "Nah, ma. Not in this little clinic. They don't have no vaccine in there." As we prepared to get out of the car, two other cars pulled up on both sides of us. As soon as the car to the left fully parked, the security guard started to approach. I figured she was going to tell the other driver they parked crooked or something. But she came and stood at my window. I cracked it with a, "Yes?" She said, "They are giving the vaccine inside and it's free."

Well, for me, that was my sign.

I told my mom I was going to get it. She was shocked. LOL We'd talked about it so much but I told her at this point, I wanted to get the shot so that I would at least not pass an infection on to her. I knew she didn't want to get it, so at least this way, I could protect her from me, should I contract it at some point. I gave her the key so she could restart the car with the a/c on while she waited for me. After a little back and forth with she and I and she and the staff, she decided to come on in.

It was amazing because nobody was inside. There was no line. We did have to wait a few minutes to be processed and checked in, but that was it. We had chairs to sit in, there wasn't a huge crowd around, it was very peaceful, streamlined, straightforward. I think what happened is they were preparing to close for the day. I know the vaccine has to be used within a certain amount of time and once you activate a vial, it has to be used up as soon as possible. So I really think we just in the right place at the right time.

We weren't even trying to get the vaccine and it literally walked up to the car. LOL I'm glad I got it. I've had so much anxiety about the virus after watching my whole immediate family fall victim to it. And we still have no idea of the lasting effects; that remains to be seen. So at least I'm protected enough to not die from the thing, even if I do catch it. And this way, I'd just be a card-carrying member of the zombie apocalypse instead of trying to survive it. It is what it is. LOL

On other notes...

I had interview number 2 with the org next door to mine. It would be a promotion in many ways. I'd be scared because it would be a jump in responsibility but I've made it through jumps in responsibility before and I obviously know a little bit about something, so I can do it. We'll see. We will see.

AReid... Bless his heart. I'm just proud of myself because I believe I am no longer bound by this obsession with narcissists. At least I like to think I am. He keeps prodding, trying to pull me back in. I don't even dignify any nonsense with a response. Unless it's about work, he ain't getting it from me. Purrrr.

One of my close friends is having a baby! I'm soooo excited for her! She and her husband have been trying for so long. It's tough because the ladies older than her in our circle are either trying or really want a child and have had no activity. So for - I'll go ahead and say it - the REST of us, it's almost bittersweet. But I am SO happy for her!

Whatever the Lord has for my life, he will give me. I can't worry about it over that.

Before I forget, I did experience side effects from the first shot. I anticipated them from he second shot, not the first. I had fever and chills for a couple of hours but my hips have been aching for more than 24 hours. The arm where I got the shot was really sore for about 24 hours - I couldn't extend it back without significant soreness. That started decreasing today. My entire arm all the way through my fingers fell numb at some point Friday night as well. And my heart was racing all through the night, Friday (which was my reminder that recent heart issues were one of the reasons I was hesitant about getting the shot; had forgotten that as I waltzed into the clinic).

Ok, I can't think of anything else. I'm sleepy. Been home all day on purpose (not that I'm out and about much, anyway). My whole plan has been to relax today and I accomplished that wonderfully. :)

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"I am the creator, I am the MAKER of the universe. I am the one who spoke into nothing and all creation heard." - Monday, Apr. 19, 2021
"That's what my heart keeps saying. I just can't stop this feeling." - Saturday, Apr. 17, 2021
"Until the end of time I'll be there for you. You are my heart and mind, I truly adore you." - Friday, Apr. 16, 2021
"If it's... Then it's... If it's... Then it's... LEAN!" - Wednesday, Apr. 14, 2021
"Cocoa. Blue indigo. Purple, my love. Oh, my love..." - Tuesday, Mar. 30, 2021