TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"Baby, I'm afraid... Really, I'm afraid of loving you."

Friday, Feb. 28, 2020 - 5:37 p.m.

Sitting in my living room.

Waiting on the plumber. Plumbing went out again.

This is Day 3 of Lent and I am intent on living in a spirit of gratefulness and thankfulness. Doing my best to not give into the frustration of not yet being able to just fully enjoy my home without issue. And it is absolutely frustrating.

Absolutely frustrating.

But I don't have to give into it.

I'm highly bothered because, like now, I have plans this evening but yet, I'm sitting here, waiting on the plumber - who can come or not come. Then, if he doesn't come, I have to call someone else to come, pay them, fight with the contractor to get my money back...

I need to not get myself all hyped up before I need to. It's easy to - verrrryyyy easy! But I need not. I need not.

I need not.

I am really talking to myself via diaryland right now. *deep breaths*

Today was an interesting day at work. I was super-productive. It's either because this has been a hectic week and I've been out more than in. It was likely moreso that on my side, no one was in the office because of flex scheduling. Whatever it was, I got so much done today. It made me happy. I'm also curious as to whether not having so much coffee is clearing out my brain.

I could also just still be on a high from yesterday's Black History Month celebration. I formed a committee this year and it worked so well! I really enjoyed not having to do very single thing by myself! LAWD! LOL. It took a lot to corral everyone through the process, but the end result was worth it. It was such a beautiful - GORGEOUS - day. The jazz band was the perfect addition and I never would've suggested it, so I'm glad one of the committee members did. The fashion show was FABULOUS!!! OMG! Everything. Just everything about it was amazing. So happy.

So yeah, I'm probably just still on a cloud.

Sometimes, I think I wouldn't mind working in HR, specifically focusing on diversity and inclusion.

I applied for that type of position with a technology company. I wish I applied with full confidence that I could get the position, but I didn't. *I* know I have no HR experience, so I'm hesitant to get excited that I would make it through the recruitment process because of that. At the very same time, the God I serve flung the moon and stars into the night sky. He can do anything. This, I know. If this is the position he wants me to have, I could walk in the door not knowing a thing about diversity or inclusion and get the doggone job. It's just matching my human thoughts up with my faith in God. That part is HARD. But I gotta try.

Welp, the plumber just came and left without doing anything. Said he will have to come tomorrow. :-/ Lawd. LORD!

Last week was really cool. I went to brunch last Sunday, Tuesday was an Xavier Omar concert (uh-mazing), Friday was a Roy Woods Jr comedy show. I also cooked salmon for the very first time.

This week has been very quiet, on the other hand.

I very much so enjoyed both!

Life is so different now. I told someone the other day that I am happy and at peace for a change. It's been a long time since I haven't felt the weight of the whole world on my shoulders.

What would I tell my younger self? Make sure NOT to pick up the weight of the freaking world.

Everybody hears about how I can't manage anybody's stuff anymore. I'll pray for ya but that's about all I can do.

The plumber tried to call me out because I said he ain't got no license. And he don't! He was mad too but I AIN'T CARE AND DIDN'T BACK DOWN. After he went on and on, I said, "I have had possession of this house since July. How many times have I seen you?" Mmmmhmm, that shut him up.

Anyway, let me get going, since I can't stay at my house tonight. Thank goodness I got my mom a new mattress. It's a dream to sleep on. :-)

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"We can take that step to see if this is really gonna be. All you gotta do is say yes." - Sunday, Mar. 29, 2020
"So let me be the first to say: I'm lost with you. So don't ever go...go away..." - Wednesday, Mar. 25, 2020
"I'll bring stars down for you. I'll go to the moon - I will go just for you." - Thursday, Mar. 19, 2020
"I apologize. Oh, believe me, I do." - Sunday, Mar. 08, 2020
"Impossible impossibility..." - Saturday, Feb. 29, 2020