TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"I put the new Forgis on the Jeep..."

Thursday, Jan. 02, 2020 - 10:47 p.m.

My 2019 ( #forposterity #forthemostpart )

I survived a home renovation. Complete gut and remodel. LAWD! I've neverrrrr been so frustrated and angry and disappointed and disgusted in my LIFE! JESUS! It was the worst. I hated the experience and hate I had to go through it. I came out better for it but MY GOD, was it rough. My house is still giving minor troubles but... Dah well. I am going to make the very best of it because I OWN A HOME!!!

Traveled to: Martinique for my birthday; Las Vegas, NV for work; drove to the Hoover Dam and Grand Canyon and back to Las Vegas to take advantage of the work trip; stepped foot in Arizona at the Hoover Dam; Fort Worth, TX (for work); Lima, Cusco, Aguas Calientes and Ollantaytambo in Peru; Santiago, Valparaiso and Maipo Valley in Chile.

Saw live, in concert: Nu Deco Ensemble featuring Angelique Kidjo at the North Beach Bandshell for my birthday; Az Yet, 112, Crystal Waters, & Chante Moore at the Black History Month Celebration: Music in the Park in North Miami; Robert Glasper & Taylor McFerrin at 1-800-LUCKY in Wynwood; Michael Sterling & Bobby Lytes at Club Eden on a family night out; Anthony Hamilton & Tamar Braxton at the James L. Knight Center with my family; Tobe Nwigwe at The Ground in Downtown Miami; Method Man & Redman at DAER Nightclub at Hardrock Hollywood.

Continued dental work with a crown on a long-exposed tooth as well as finally getting BRACES on August 9th. Stopped biting my nails in 2019. Randy helped me get there.

Celebrated birthdays & a birth (Kim from work). More holidays with my amazing family, including a Christmas party for all the kids. Cooked a turkey for both Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners.

Aunt Julia ascended to her heavenly home. Mostly everyone else in the family's health remained relatively stable, thank God.

Went to Martinique alone and drove the treacherous mountains through all the fear in the world! Organized and hosted a Black History Month celebration for the main campus of my place of employment. Took a beginner and then intermediate Spanish class over the course of two months, two times a week, 3-hours each class in the evenings after work. Took 2, 3-hour exams to earn the Certified Professional in Supplier Diversity certification I'd been putting off for years. Didn't get a chance to study, yet passed. BUT GOD! Went to a Game of Thrones closing party, replete with a fire-breathing bartender. Got my mom's plumbing redone in the midst of my own home renovation. Speaking of, negotiated with various departments at the County and FPL to get tasks accomplished related to the renovation. Only had one breakdown through the entire process (air conditioner cage). Enjoyed my family's laid-back and chill family reunion in Orlando, FL. Successfully passed my place of employment's 4-month long Lean Six Sigma Green Belt Program. Hooked up the refrigerator, put together a bench and helped put together a daybed for my little home. Helped my neighbors across the street from time to time. Created a glass-blown paperweight. Hosted Uncle Bay's, Eleanor's and Jessica's milestone birthday parties. Stayed at the Aria Hotel after claiming in 2018 that I would one day stay there. Actually got a tour of the facility from top to bottom - the penthouse to the basement, employee areas and all. I know the place inside, out. Watched a Game of Thrones show within the Bellagio fountains in Las Vegas. Road-tripped from Las Vegas to Rainbow Mountain, the Hoover Dam and the Grand Canyon. Endured a 16-hour layover then calmly communicated with JetBlue, resulting in $1200 in flight credits for me and my homegirls! Hmph! LOL CLIMBED MF'N MACHUPICCHU (23k steps)!!! And then Ollantaytambo the very next day! Dinah's very belated birthday/promotion party at Gold Room was off the chain! Ryan's bday celebration at DAER Nightclub in VIP featuring Method Man & Redman was what I expect my party life to be like henceforth. Tourtistically survived very active political protests in Santiago, Chile. Ventured out to live music and other events all by myself.

Life was great in 2019. While CHALLENGING as all get out (!!!!), it was the first time in a long time where I felt like I pushed past my personal walls to be a better me. It was the first time in a long time that I felt like *I* created direction for my life. Where I felt like *I* was not afraid to make commitments and set intentions and work until they came to pass. Through the things that came, I stayed committed and saw it all through. I felt like I could do it. I DID IT. I needed 2019 so that I could feel confident in believing I can do what I think I can do. I am actually capable. 2019 showed me that in so many ways.

I'm truly grateful.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"Impossible impossibility..." - Saturday, Feb. 29, 2020
"Baby, I'm afraid... Really, I'm afraid of loving you." - Friday, Feb. 28, 2020
"It's gon' be a long, long night in all the right ways..." - Saturday, Feb. 01, 2020
"So I'm running...in a hurry..." - Sunday, Jan. 26, 2020
"I didn't want no trouble, no. I just wanted my way....my way....my way......" - Sunday, Jan. 05, 2020