TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"Because of who you are and more, I'm thankful..."

Wednesday, Aug. 28, 2019 - 9:55 p.m.

G-aunt Julia is still here, still alive, still kicking.

But she had a huge seizure just under 3 hours ago. Such a frightening experience. It's been a year and 3 months since I last said this: "I hate that my mom had to see that." That was actually going through my head as the seizure was happening.

It was in her hospital bed. We called for the nurse and they came through the speaker very nonchalantly. I tried to maintain my composure even though I didn't know if my great-aunt was in the process of transition or what. I also kept thinking, "What time is it? I need to look at the time in case she dies so I know what time it was." That was such a random thought but it wouldn't go away.

I stuck my now long nails in between her teeth to try to pry them apart. At first, they thought she'd had a stroke but the CT scan doesn't show anything.

It was just so frightening. And it happened all of a sudden, so we were caught completely off-guard. I honestly thought she would quickly open her eyes but she didn't. There was a moment when I guess the seizure was over and she just collapsed. I thought she had died. Lord. So glad this lady didn't die in front of me.

I'm glad it wasn't a stroke. Hoping she comes out of whatever it was. She's still not responding as she normally does.

I don't want to spend the night here but her granddaughter is not making any moves to come and, of course, nobody else in the family will step up to do anything.

Life be throwing some stuff at you. For real.

I took today and the next few days off to pack up and officially move into my house. That probably won't happen now but now I can be with my great-aunt as she goes through whatever this situation is.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"Whatever u need. My heart belongs to u. Whatever u need. There's nothing I won't do." - Monday, Dec. 02, 2019
"Guess we got a situationship. Guess we got a situation... Shit." - Monday, Oct. 21, 2019
"If you were mine - if you were mine - I wouldn't want to go to Heaven." - Friday, Sept. 20, 2019
"Protected from weapons formed. Put back together when torn. It's because of who you are." - Tuesday, Sept. 10, 2019
"Lord, you don't have to move my mountain, but give me the strength to climb." (Please.) - Friday, Aug. 30, 2019