TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"When I was in trouble, you came to my rescue!"

Tuesday, Mar. 19, 2019 - 6:50 p.m.

Just realized last night that, since basically 2012, I've saved something like $100k.

Also, I need to send a giftcard or something to my high school social studies teacher. He made a statement (don't sign up for those credit cards in college) or two (put in fake info and sign your name as Daffy Duck if you really want the free stuff) about credit cards and debt and, obviously, that has saved me from a lifetime of debt.

I'm helping a friend with her budget. She has $12,000 in debt! That would probably give me hives on a daily basis, knowing how I am about money. OMG!

Working with her makes me understand that I have been TRULY BLESSED to live a lifestyle that does not include debt. Like, I no longer have "daily" debt. I don't have a car payment, I don't have credit card debt. I have a mortgage and student loans, but that's it. That's it.

That blows my mind!

I recall growing up, hearing that you should have 6 months of salary as savings. I never imagined I would EVER be in that position. NEVER. IN LIFE. EVER!!!! Yet, here I am. Here I freaking am!!! God is sooooo good!!!!

(In writing the above, I realized I should probably separately set aside my 6month safety net. So I went in my online savings account and made a new savings line for "Rainy Day Fund".)

I truly feel like that old adage is true: the more money you have, the more money comes your way. The past 30 days alone have been silly. The last 3 months have been ridiculous. I've gotten the two payments for my work bonus, a refund from the escrow account for my house, I'm actually getting a few hundred back for my taxes this year (haven't gotten more than a few dollars in years - thanks, house!), I have a reimbursement coming from the contractor for some fees I paid for the architect... Like, hand over fist, money. It's crazy.

I hate thinking that I shouldn't acknowledge it. Like, somehow, acknowleding it is going to cause everything to come crashing down. I'm still working through these thought processes.

*sigh*

Anyway. Just had to come memorialize this. I mean, I had about $3k in credit card debt about 8 years ago. But after I took care of that, I didn't turn back. No way. Thank God!

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"I was gone already. Gone, already." - Friday, May. 03, 2019
"Oh, Lord, I need... Oh, Lord, I need... A breakthrough... A breakthrough..." - Tuesday, Apr. 23, 2019
"Can't blame it on some subtle flirtation. It's the way you look at me with those eyes..." - Monday, Apr. 22, 2019
"Makes me want to run away, away from love. 'Cause I don't wanna feel the pain, the pain of love." - Friday, Apr. 19, 2019
"Why don't u stay the night? Baby, u should stay the night. U should just stay the night." - Saturday, Apr. 13, 2019