TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"Alright! We're jamming!"

Tuesday, Nov. 20, 2018 - 7:07 p.m.

The other night, at an empty lounge, the seemingly inexperienced DJ played a sped-up version of Lauryn Hill's "Ex-Factor" which he seamlessly dragged into Drake's "Nice For What"....

*INSERT FLAMES EMOJI!!!!!!*

I truly do HEART a good freaking DJ!!!

Had to come jot down a follow-up to that career opportunity post.

Pretty sure I wrote that on a Friday. Well, the following Thursday (meeting was moved from Tues to Weds to Thurs), met with my boss, who informed me that I would be getting a merit increase that officially moves me into a new category. Same convo, the upcoming bonus was mentioned.

I forgot that in a leadership role, I qualify for the bonus. Last year was my first one so I guess I ain't used to it like the others are. LOL. It's 10% of salary, split into 2 disbursements - 5% now, 5% in the Spring.

I am SUUUUPER GRATEFUL for these financial blessings. I lost sight of the blessings when my boss mentioned them to me. I was thinking about how what I make doesn't nearly compare to other executives, how the merit increase could have been higher, etc. But I don't even have the full confidence I need to have in my role to be thinking like that. I'm not even performing at my highest level to be speaking that way.

I owe it to God to be GRATEFUL for my blessings. I have gotten to this point in my life and career thus far because of God's positioning. I am where he's placed me, and that's without me truly applying myself. (To be honest, I'm afraid of leveling up. But that's a topic for another day...which I keep running away from.)

So I am truly, truly grateful for my blessings. God has been so good to me in the work/salary department!!

Nevertheless, even with this money in my face, I don't feel that this is the career opportunity I was led to pray for a couple of weeks ago. I feel like maybe I am being encouraged to stay still for now. Maybe the opportunity is still in development or sum'n.

At the same time, I haven't asked God outright about the message - what it means, what he wants me to do, etc. I' kinda scared to, in a way. What if he says this is where he wants me to stay for a long while longer - a place I don't necessarily want to be?? What if he says I need to leave right now - ahead of my other 5%?? What if his silence is an answer and I am left to go crazy wondering? *sigh*

How bout I just need to pray and talk to him about it? So, okay, I will. I talked to him in the first place, so this is the same thing and nothing to be afraid about.

In other news, funny enough, after all that talk about money, this afternoon, found out that the payroll department messed up my dayum check! Thank God I'm not paycheck-to-paycheck and that bonus came through. I am BLESSED that, for now, it's only a minor inconvenience.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"I've been trying so hard not to go off but u're trying me...TRYING me...." - Tuesday, Jan. 08, 2019
"If life is a movie, then you're the best part." - Tuesday, Jan. 01, 2019
"Don't make me feel a way..." - Thursday, Dec. 20, 2018
"I walked, I ran, I jumped, I flew right off the ground to float to u." - Monday, Dec. 17, 2018
"What the ****? Hold. on. Everybody get ya mutha****in roll on!" - Saturday, Dec. 15, 2018