TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"How could u know these things about me?"

Tuesday, Jul. 03, 2018 - 9:38 p.m.

Still reading that (not-so-good) hood romance novel and one of the scenes reminded me of a long-ago life event.

It was the funeral for my BFF's grandmother, who'd helped to raise her. I had my mom drop me off to the church so I could attend. I think I was in high school. I grabbed a seat towards the back of the packed church but it was apparently right at the aisle.

The family came in and Tae was one of the first few. She was already sobbing. We made eye contact and, next thing I knew, she's grabbed me and quite literally dragged me into the line and up to the front. I don't remember viewing her grandmother's body at the front of the church but I do remember when we got to the pew - the front row pew. Tae was crying so, she was inconsolable. I tried to comfort her but there was no comforting her. At all.

She was rocking side to side, crying her eyes out, completely unable to communicate. Next thing I knew, she had done slid out the pew onto the floor. I vaguely remember thinking, "How this girl gon fall out like this?!" It took her mom and I and someone else to get her off the floor and back onto that pew. Hammurcee.

We laughed about it later because it really was a classic black funeral dramatic moment. But that experience has always stuck with me. She was soooo emotional and I guess that was one of the earliest times where I had to mentally separate from the scene in front of me in order to cope.

Just wanted to note that memory before it disappears into the ether of my overutilized brain.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"Too gone, too long, baby, to ever get back again in my heart." - Thursday, Jul. 26, 2018
"When summer burns with heat, I always get the hots for you." - Monday, Jul. 16, 2018
"Now that I told u what it iiiis, I better point you towards The Wiiiiz!" - Monday, Jul. 09, 2018
"Do whatever it is u gotta do: it won't hurt me. It won't hurt me." - Sunday, Jul. 08, 2018
"KeKe: Do u love me? Is u riding?" - Friday, Jul. 06, 2018