TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"I got my money & I got my whiskey. Tonight, I'm gonna get reallll tipsy!"

Saturday, Oct. 14, 2017 - 6:27 p.m.

Been wanting to write since Thursday night but haven't had a chance so I'm going to take the opportunity now to do talk-to-text and just get a couple thoughts down.

First, the house. I've decided to start calling the house MyHouse. It's time to declare what's mine.

I needed to have a closing yesterday (Friday) because the mortgage company I'm purchasing from had a deadline of October 15th. However, I've been waiting to get a document signed by a judge and that has been dragging on since the beginning of August. The attorney I have (who is really my coworker) is so laid-back and lackadaisical. I was blaming the delay of the process on the court system til I got a couple up close and personal glimpses about how she "works". Once I saw how she "works", realized I been in a lil trouble.

Extremely long story slightly shorter, I needed to have everything done and in place for a closing this past Friday. The document was the key to everything. When did this document get signed? Friday. The closing not happening by the deadline the mortgage company gave meant that the process will come to an unfortunate end.

I was so scared and nervous internally, I guess moreso my stomach because I just didn't know if the mortgage company would let me start the process all over again. They have the full ability to go ahead with the foreclosure and sell it to anybody on the street. At the end of yesterday, the mortgage company let me know (without specifically saying it) that everything will be okay because they're willing to keep going forward with the process.

God is good. I've been praying to him and talking to him and harassing him and bothering him so much about this situation. I just knew that he would work it out in my favor. Just knew that minutes to the deadline, everything would be done and I would be the owner of that house. But for whatever reason, that wasn't in his design for this process.

It's so interesting because I dragged my feet so long on so many things because I didn't want to go through the process. I had a feeling it was going to be (for lack of a better term) treacherous so I didn't want to go through with it. But I knew in order to get the house I would have to go through with it. So here I am in the midst of it, and it's been traumatic. Nothing is in your control. Everything is out of your control. As a slight control freak, it's been rough.

Thinking back on it, yesterday I was slightly in shock. Towards the end of the day when I'd still heard nothing about the document and I knew that our closing was impossible at that point, I took a last-ditch effort and tried calling the court. The thing about our court system is that they only speak to the attorney on the case. But I knew from a couple of previous calls that if I spoke with people that were nice enough, I can get just far enough to at least get information to give back to my attorney, who apparently does not like making calls. So of course, yesterday at 3pm, I pick up the phone and call the court system. Get a couple different people and finally end up with the biggest b-word of all. She did NOT want to be helpful but I reminded her that the reason our process has been taking so long was partly due to her inaction. She asked for my number to call me back with any update and I hung up not knowing what was going to happen. Less than 45 minutes later something told me to go on the website. I look and the documents have been signed and posted. A great result but too little, too late.

At the end of the day, I'm just glad that the mortgage company is willing to still let me purchase the house. That brings me so much joy and lets me know that God is still in the midst of the situation. I was proud of myself for not falling into despair even in the face possibly not having a chance to get the home anymore. Something was telling me that everything will eventually work out. Even though it looked like nothing was going to work out, something inside of me knew that God would still work it all out.

When in Cuba at the end of August, I bought a set of figurines for the house. They were the first thing that I bought for that house. MyHouse. Today at Goodwill, I saw a candle holder and purchased it. $4 well spent. I'm going to keep walking in faith and preparing myself for owning the house. MyHouse. I'm preparing myself to own MyHouse.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"Good tidings of comfort and joy....joy..." - Wednesday, Dec. 27, 2017
"I'm chillin heavy. Understand me baby, this Gangsta Boo!" - Monday, Nov. 27, 2017
"You can't win. You can't break even & you can't get outta the game." - Thursday, Nov. 16, 2017
"Be, now, with us." - Monday, Nov. 13, 2017
"I'm not saying that u should just rush & give me ur heart. I'm just asking that u like me real hard. Just like me real hard." - Tuesday, Oct. 24, 2017