TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"Unchangeable! Unshakeable! Unstoppable! That's who you are!"

Thursday, Feb. 23, 2017 - 9:48 a.m.

I have to testify in writing so that I don't ever forget the details:

So the biggest hurdle I've faced in the purchase of great-aunt's home has been finding a contractor for the project. The mortgage that I would have to get to purchase the house requires a contractor with the financial capacity to get through the project with only 2 payments - at the start of the project and halfway through. Also, what sane person, in general, wants to deal with a contractor? Nobody. So they're not just lying around nor are recommendations. I've engaged two and they both fell through even before a written estimate. I've been really discouraged by the process to find a contractor.

**** It's like 6 days later and I'm just getting around to finishing. But things have continued going in a positive direction, so it's all good. ****

So last week, Tuesday, the need for a contractor had re-risen, as I'd called the mortgage company that owns my great-aunt's property and through that conversation, it was apparent that I wouldn't be able to get around the contractor issue. I was frustrated all over again because, as mentioned above, I hadn't been able to find one. As a group of coworkers and I uber'd to a restaurant to celebrate our boss' birthday, I silently told God to work this thing out. I was literally like, "God, I'ma need you to work this out! I don't know what else to do at this point. Only you can fix this situation!"

The same day, on two separate social media sites, I saw an article about a group of young black property investors. I have a passing acquaintance with one of the investors, so that night, I reached out to her to see if she would recommend her contractor. She did and quickly.

The next morning, while getting ready for work, I saw she had supplied all the contractor's contact info. So I had it on my mind to call at some point that day. When I got to work, even thgouh I knew I had a litany of things to do, I closed my door and called the man.

*phone rings with a beep to signify the person is on another call*

I thought to hang up and just call back later. But something kept me on the phone. The contractor clicked over to connect our call.

Me: "Hi, KS? I know you're on the phone so I can call you back later."

KS: "Who is this?"

Me: "This is Amber. I was given your name and number by FF. I'm looking for a contractor."

KS: "The universe is soooo funny!"

Skrrrrt!

Basically, the other call he was on, he was discussing the investment group. So he was excited to already get a referral from the whole situation.

As we talked, he got more excited because he was familiar with the area the home is in - he grew up down the street from it - and he would be in the area of the home that day. He asked for the code to get access through the lockbox the mortgage company has on the house. I hesitated but what's the worse that could happen? There's nothing of value in the home and the bank isn't selling it to anybody but me until foreclosure proceedings begin in May. So I gave him the code.

The man called me back an hour later, he had already done a walkthrough and had a tentative dollar estimate.

God, you are so good! I already said it but I have to say it again, going back over this situation.

Since then, things have been steamrolling. I had to reach back out to the mortgage company to have some paperwork redone. Reached out to the agent that's been dealing with me not getting anywhere for going on three years now, and he was just as responsive as ever. Sent me the paperwork on Saturday and was on the phone with me Monday. The contractor is super-responsive so far. We've had like 4 long conversations about the property.

I'm finally feeling confident that this is going to happen.

I'm excited!!!

And I'm sooo scared. The home-buying process is notoriously difficult without adding in a full renovation. I'm just praying that God makes this whole process as smooth as what has transpired over the past week.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"But I still believe it's turning around for me." - Sunday, Mar. 12, 2017
"You oughta been there! You oughta been there! Said I wasn't gonna tell nobody but I couldn't keep it to myself!" - Friday, Mar. 10, 2017
"Be not entangled in that bondage again. You just stand!" - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2017
"I shall not worry, for you told me I have the victory. Lord, your name is above every name." - Monday, Mar. 06, 2017
"You're the God of the Encore - do it again!" - Friday, Feb. 24, 2017