TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"And whisper you know these things...."

Sunday, Aug. 07, 2016 - 11:29 p.m.

Lazy weekend. Not necessarily restful - went to bed late, woke up early, no naps. I have spent majority of the past 2.25 days with my head in my phone, laying in my bed.

And that's is perfectly fine with me.

The pace of the past few weeks had me exhausted, so the idea of doing NOTHING was the only thing that sounded appealing to me. So that's what I did.

My great-uncle is ill, which I don't think I've written about here. He's in his 80's and it was discovered about a month ago that he has pancreatic cancer. Our family was called to the facility he was at with plans to put him in hospice, as he was "rapidly declining". Well, that was almost a month and a half ago and he's still kicking, thank God.

I had written his life off when we were called to the hospital that first time. He's elderly and he was on the verge of unconsciousness at that time. When the doctors said "soon", that's what it seemed like. So when one of his sons drove from 4 hours away, only to arrive at the facility where he was and demand he be moved somewhere else, I thought it was just a person that couldn't accept the inevitable.

God proved me wrong, honey. My great-uncle was all the way back to himself within a few days, albeit with a brand new cancer diagnosis. He was discharged into the hospice program, but death, at least for now, has stayed in its corner. God wanted me to see that he does, indeed, have the final say.

Every additional day with my great-uncle is a blessing, so that's how I'm treating it. It's been kinda tough for me because I've been through this experience with my great-aunt. For the roughly 10 months she was in the program, I spent almost every morning, opening my eyes with the idea that I may at some point receive "that call". That is not a good feeling. I'm trying to change my behavior in that respect, but it's also a protective measure by my brain. So I have to put a little respeck on it. God will help my great-uncle, my family, and I through this. I know he will.

I want some chocolate so bad right now. Like, a gooey blondie with dark chocolate chips. Some Ben & Jerry's salted caramel core ice cream on top. *splash* OMG. Really want. Now.

Ok, I need to be hitting the sack. It's late and I have staff to tend to in the morning. I'll talk about that one day soon.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"Until the end of time, I'll be there for you. You are my heart and mind. I truly adore you." - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2016
"Don't touch what's there...when it's the feelings I wear..." - Saturday, Oct. 08, 2016
"I will enter his gates with thanksgiving in my heart, I will enter his courts with praise." - Friday, Oct. 07, 2016
"I tried to run it away. Thought then my head'd be feeling clearer...." - Tuesday, Oct. 04, 2016
"Boy, your money and my money? Ain't the same damn kind. I can live your life and my life AT THE SAME DAMN TIME!" - Sunday, Oct. 02, 2016