TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"There is a light that shines special for you and me..."

Sunday, Apr. 03, 2016 - 1:07 a.m.

Okay. I've stayed up late enough to the point where we are now on the final day, Day 21 of my family's annual Daniel Fast Experience.

I am really taking this one for what it was. It wasn't what *I* wanted it to be but I believe God is pleased with my sacrifice. I have been as disciplined as possible with what I chose to refrain from. I have done what I could to keep my mind and heart clear to hear from God.

I didn't pray as much as I would have liked, I didn't focus on things that I wanted worked out. I have simply gone through each day as they've come.

My mind wants me to think that I didn't do a great job. But my heart tells me otherwise.

21 days came and went so quickly.

Time is running by me and, sometimes, I feel like I'm standing in one spot, watching it go.

I was telling someone recently that I more vividly remember the years 2012-2014 than much else. 2015 feels like it never happened.

I don't want 2016 to be like it never happened. There's still time for me to pull myself together. I'ma try.

I want to be organized. I want to start planning my year, the months, the weeks, in advance. Sometimes I spend more time organizing than I do doing because I've packed in too much. So I need a balance. But I definitely need organization.

I'm getting ready to hire 1 of 2 open positions under my management at the job. There's a mid-level position and an entry-level position. Someone in my department wants the entry-level position but I don't want her to work for me. I don't like her work ethic. But I think she's lazy because her current manager is no good. I could probably get her to push herself under me. But at the same time, do I really want the headache? She complains, gossips and doesn't take responsibility. But so does her current manager, so what else should I be expecting from her? *sigh* HR screwed up so she may not even take the position. Which is ok because the candidate I really want to hire is waiting to hear something, I believe. So that's good.

The mid-level position, the CEO's secretary wants her son to get it. The guy put on his resume that he wants to be a firefighter and just graduated from the fire academy 3 months ago. I told HR "hecky-no", but now my boss is gonna try to sway me. I'm sorry but it doesn't make sense for me to hire somebody who I know and who has made it clear that he has no interest in the job up front. I get that for political reasons, he "should" get a shot. But dang.

I was thinking recently that I don't know if the public sector is a good fit for me. There is just too too much influence from too many parties involved. Everybody has a stake in what's going on and everybody wants to say something. It's aggravating, to say the least. On the high end, it's too much to be productive. I don't know...

On another-nother note, that's it. I'm going to bed!

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"Until the end of time, I'll be there for you. You are my heart and mind. I truly adore you." - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2016
"Don't touch what's there...when it's the feelings I wear..." - Saturday, Oct. 08, 2016
"I will enter his gates with thanksgiving in my heart, I will enter his courts with praise." - Friday, Oct. 07, 2016
"I tried to run it away. Thought then my head'd be feeling clearer...." - Tuesday, Oct. 04, 2016
"Boy, your money and my money? Ain't the same damn kind. I can live your life and my life AT THE SAME DAMN TIME!" - Sunday, Oct. 02, 2016