TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"God's been so good. I couldn't tell if I tried."

Friday, Jun. 20, 2014 - 12:37 a.m.

So two things:

1) The Job

Last week, I got a call from H-R'ra (HR). It was a recruiter from my job in reference to the title change that's been in the works the past couple months. She was calling to tell me that an offer was ready. She told me that she doesn't tell offer amounts over the phone so it would arrive via email. In the meantime, she was preparing me by telling me that she knew I would be disappointed with the offer but that she did her best to get me a good amount. I asked why I would not be able to get the base salary in this situation. For some reason, this triggered her to give the offer number over the phone: $1,000 more than what I make today. That's it, that's all.

Chyle boo. I laughed. A good, hearty laugh. Laughed so much, I had to apologize. It was hilarious to me, was all. So I pretty much told her I was not going to accept such a low offer, to send it over anyway so that I could discuss it with my leadership.

I took it to my VP under the guise that I didn't think she was aware of what was going on. I explained everything to her and also let her know that I knew what the base salary for the position. I informed her that I was not pushing for that base salary, but that I was not about to accept an offer for $1,000 more (7%). Was not gonna happen.

She apologized for me receiving that kind of offer, assured me she knew nothing about it, then went and talked to my direct supervisor. By the end of the day, my direct supervisor was calling me in to apologize. LOL Somebody better! LOL

Anywhoo, longest story a mite bit shorter, I got a call yesterday from H-R'ra, the same recruiter. She told me that she was sending over the offer, that I needed to accept and return the offer asap. I said ok, even though I was feeling like whatever at that point. I was even considering just turning down whatever sorry offer they were going to make and forgetting about the whole promotion idea. I wasn't worried about it. I prayed about it and crossed it right off my worry list. I wasn't about to fret myself over the situation.

It's so weird that I haven't really been able to pray about this situation. I didn't know what to pray, what to think, so I just didn't. I guess I was just feeling tooo.... I don't know what I was feeling about it. Like, the whole thing kinda blows my mind.

This year has been the biggest year of my working at my job. I have had the heights of success this year. All while going through so much with my great-aunt, up to and including her passing away. She was at the lowest points in the midst of my humongous work project. Yet God allowed me to be there for her and get everything done. I was truly, truly blessed. And then she passed away. But the train was already rolling out of the station. My great-aunt died on a Tuesday and I think that Thursday, I ended up in a meeting with the chairman of the board for my organization. I was there in support of my VP because something she wanted me to work on for him, I knew that I didn't do my absolute best on it. It was rushed and part of it was missing because I didn't have enough time to get the information from outside sources. My boss' boss (the CFO) volunteered me to do my VP's presentation. It was my first time meeting the chairman. I had just eatched him chew out an executive. The CEO was 1 seat away from me. I was petrified. But I prayed & did what I had to do.

And I was praised. The CEO, CFO, my VP & the Chairman of the Board praised my performance. I still can't believe it.

Ok, so back to the new offer. I opened the email & searched for the number. Sometimes, something seems so unreal that your brain just can't process what it's seeing. That is absolutely what happened to me. It took quite a few seconds to see that the offer I received was 30 FREAKING PERCENT! AAAAAGGGGHHHHH!!!!!!!

My VP is notorious for not giving anyone a decent wage. Notorious! And DEFINITELY nothing over 10%. No. Neverrrrrr. But for whatever reason, she is giving me 30%. And I am thankful. And I am grateful. And I am nervous. And I am scared! LOL

Just being human here.

OMG. I just can't believe what is going on here. I did not think the offer would ever go that high! Yet, here I am. Thank you, Jesus. Thank you, Lord!!

I'm blessed. I am blessed.

Phew.

So I was gonna write about something else but I'd rather go to sleep. I'm pooped. Maybe another day.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"Until the end of time, I'll be there for you. You are my heart and mind. I truly adore you." - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2016
"Don't touch what's there...when it's the feelings I wear..." - Saturday, Oct. 08, 2016
"I will enter his gates with thanksgiving in my heart, I will enter his courts with praise." - Friday, Oct. 07, 2016
"I tried to run it away. Thought then my head'd be feeling clearer...." - Tuesday, Oct. 04, 2016
"Boy, your money and my money? Ain't the same damn kind. I can live your life and my life AT THE SAME DAMN TIME!" - Sunday, Oct. 02, 2016