TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"I'm sorry that you seem to be confused..."

Thursday, Apr. 03, 2014 - 7:22 p.m.

Great distractions....

The night my great-aunt died, I got a WhatsApp message.

Now, keep in mind, the only reason I have a WhatsApp account is because my mom wanted to be sure I knew about it. I'd heard of the app but had no interest in downloading it. But she wanted me to have it on my phone, so I got it.

So, yeah, night before last, I got a WhatsApp message. Didn't see it until I woke up yesterday morning. Didn't recognize the number or area code but I knew it had to be someone I knew because they called me by my first name. So I replied and the person immediately told me who they were upon being asked.

It was this guy I met in November 2012 on a trip to Orlando. LOL. I found that hilarious because after trying and failing to get some, I never heard from the man again. Now, here it is a year and a half later, and this fool is trying to set something up for next weekend. Ummmmmmm, NOPE.

I swear, I meet the strangest people! LOL Like, what?! We had a nice, casual conversation when we met. I did not flirt with him and he did not flirt with me, but at the end of our conversation, he asked me to leave my girls and go back to his hotel with him. WHAT?! Where the heck did that come from?! That's what I remember thinking. LOL I actually laughed at him and told him flat out, no. No, stranger danger dude. Absolutely no.

Like..... I was flabbergasted then and now, I'm still flabbergasted. What gave the impression? LOL

I mean!

I am genuinely still laughing at his butt.

Like I said, a welcome distraction. And right at the right time. So thanks for that, random dude from Paris. LOL

Chyle boo.

And so then.......

My life is changing after my great-aunt's death. On the way to work yesterday, I thought about not having to call and check on her in the mornings anymore. Today, at lunch, I thought about not having to call and check on her as I walk across campus anymore. On the way home from work, I thought about not having to go by her house anymore. Hell, even on the walk to my car after work, I thought about not having to keep a running list of her meds and appointments in my head anymore. Not having to worry or wonder anymore. She's not here anymore. There's nothing for me to do for her anymore.

Well, not just yet. I have to handle her funeral arrangements tomorrow. I had to go let the equipment guy into her room to get her hospital bed and oxygen machine yesterday. I'll have to go through all of her paperwork and take care of all of that. But none of this stuff is a matter of life or death anymore.

I know she's gone. I believe it. It's not a shock, it's not something that's hard to swallow. She's gone. She is gone.

It's crazy because when my stepdad passed, my life drastically changed. Now, with my great-aunt, my life is drastically changing again. I haven't had this carefree life in years. It's going to take adjusting too. I'm sitting here at home tonight. Got home at 5:30pm. It's 7:46pm and I feel like I'm about to start twiddling my thumbs. This is weird.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"Until the end of time, I'll be there for you. You are my heart and mind. I truly adore you." - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2016
"Don't touch what's there...when it's the feelings I wear..." - Saturday, Oct. 08, 2016
"I will enter his gates with thanksgiving in my heart, I will enter his courts with praise." - Friday, Oct. 07, 2016
"I tried to run it away. Thought then my head'd be feeling clearer...." - Tuesday, Oct. 04, 2016
"Boy, your money and my money? Ain't the same damn kind. I can live your life and my life AT THE SAME DAMN TIME!" - Sunday, Oct. 02, 2016