TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"People always say, "WHY ME?"� I like to respond, "Why NOT you?"� I mean, really, who would you suggest?!"

Thursday, Aug. 16, 2012 - 12:51 p.m.

I caught myself on the verge of pulling a "Why me?!?!" and remembered the above quote and then kinda smiled.� Probably more like smirked.� LOL

Why NOT me?

Yesterday was just long and rough and tough.� My check engine soon light had come on over the weekend about halfway through my drive to Orlando.�� I was worried but I wasn't turning back.� I know I have roadside assistance and a credit card so I figured no matter what, I'd get me and that car back home.� LOL� Thankfully it made it through the weekend and got me back home safely.

So yeah, I took the car into the dealership yesterday morning at damn-near the first sign of daylight.� I had woken up around 5:45am to do so.� The dealership has a car service that took me to work.� As the guy was pulling up to drop me off, the service manager was ringing my cell phone to tell me that - dun dun dunnnnnn - I need a new transmission.

Again.

I laughed in disbelief and proceeded to settle into a state of semi-shock.� I thought it was gonna be something simple.� A new transmission?!?!?� AGAIN!!?!?� Geez louise!

Anywhoo, went through half of the workday and decided to check on my great-aunt.� Called her house and found out she wasn't breathing too well.� Made me nervous.� Lawd.� I said I'd call back later to check on her but before I could, her roomer was calling to let me know she wasn't doing any better.

I was in the process of making arrangements with my parents to use their mini-van to get myself and my mom around at the time.� So that just was like a cloud over my head.� Oh gosh.

My parents came and picked me up from work, we went and picked up my great-aunt, dropped off my parents at their house and then I took my great-aunt to the hospital, which is down the street from their house.

Picked up a little hamburger for great-aunt to eat because she hadn't eaten all day and, from prior experience, I knew we'd be in the ER for quite some time so I wanted to make sure she ate something.� Got to the ER, parked, managed to get the heavy wheelchair out of the back of the mini-van without dropping it on my foot, got her in the chair, started heading up to the ER entrance....

"OH SHHHHH!!!"� I couldn't curse like I wanted to because great-aunt was right there.� I'm not the type to scream when I hit or bump myself on something so I said a little "ouch!".� Thought I'd stepped on a piece of glass.� Would have been FINE with that.� But nooooo, it was a nice rusty nail.� Went straight into my foot.� I pulled it out and could see the blood coming.� I just shook my head, laughed at how ridiculous of a situation to step on a freaking rusty nail outside the door of an ER to which I'm bringing a sick person, put my foot back down and proceeded on into the ER.� Ain't nobody had time fo' dat!� Hmph!

The process in the ER took forever.� We got there at 6:30pm and great-aunt finally headed to the bed area of the ER around 10:30pm.� And truth be told, that only happened because her favorite number writer's girlfriend happened to be passing by and recognized her, so she put fire under EVERYBODY's ass in there to see about my great-aunt.� I mean FIRE!� LOL� Even the ER doctor himself came around to assess her and personally took g-aunt's blood, saying, "Ms. Robbins keeps asking me did I see you yet!"� LOL� That lady did not play and I am SOOOO thankful for her intervention!!!!� Lord KNOWS!� I left the ER at 1am after it was determined that she would be admitted.

Got home and in bed close to 2am.� Had to turn around and get up before 6am this morning so I could get ready, go pick up my mom and get us both to work.

God is good, yo.� Lemme tell you.� Because the strength he gives me????� LORD!� I KNOW I couldn't do this on my own.� If it was left up to me, I KNOW I wouldn't be able to keep my sanity and keep moving and keep going without God on my side, giving me strength, giving me peace, keeping my mind.� I KNOW I wouldn't make it by myself.� So I'm soooo grateful and thankful that he is with me, always.

#PraiseHim!

I've been listening to him more and more lately.� I'd love to get back to talking with God all of the time like I used to.� I've gotten so far away from that.

Christianity is very overwhelming.� There's so many things that you shouldn't do, should do, are supposed to be doing, should be aspiring to do.� And then if you're not doing everything perfect, it can start to feel discouraging.� But I feel like there was a time that my personal relationship with God was all that mattered to me.� And things were going so smoothly.� I wasn't focused on all the rules - I was just focused on being in tune with God.� I feel like I've lost my way with that over the past few years.� But every time he speaks to me, I remember how it used to be and I'm so comforted by the fact that he is still with me.� Even still.� Wow.� God's love is amazing.

So yeah, no "Why me?!".� I'm just thanking God that he chose me to endure this and that he is right by my side through everything that is going on.� I'm praying for everybody, that's all I can do.� My poor parents are both ill.� *sigh*

He's given me the strength so far, he will continue to give me the strength.� I have faith that this is true.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"Until the end of time, I'll be there for you. You are my heart and mind. I truly adore you." - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2016
"Don't touch what's there...when it's the feelings I wear..." - Saturday, Oct. 08, 2016
"I will enter his gates with thanksgiving in my heart, I will enter his courts with praise." - Friday, Oct. 07, 2016
"I tried to run it away. Thought then my head'd be feeling clearer...." - Tuesday, Oct. 04, 2016
"Boy, your money and my money? Ain't the same damn kind. I can live your life and my life AT THE SAME DAMN TIME!" - Sunday, Oct. 02, 2016