TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"But I gotta be strong. You did me wrong WHEN I THOUGHT WE WERE REALLY DOWN!"

Saturday, Nov. 06, 2010 - 1:22 p.m.

*** Wrote this earlier in the week. It's kind of null and void now, in certain aspects. But it's what I was thinking at the time so... Yeah. ***

I keep FIGHTING with myself over DBanks.

I don't understand it.

Why is this a battle? Why is my well-being a fight against his being able to have cake and eat it too???

Does this make sense to anyone in my brain? Anyone? Is anybody even in there? Bueller? BUELLER?!?

I'm sick of this.

In other waaaaay more important news...

My trip. Wow. I mean. Just wow...... Kinda what I wrote in that last entry. I mean, how do I describe in words? It's hard.

First of all, Haiti? "Needs help" is an understatement. I did not leave there happy and anyone who is able to is probably a little off in the head. I feel like we did GREAT work and hopefully left a bit of a lasting impact (at least on the children at the orphanages we visited and the people whose homes we painted). But it still feels like what we did wasn't even enough for a drop in the bucket.

What you see on the news about Haiti? Trust me, it's WORSE when you get there. It's easy to be disconnected when you're looking at it on a television screen. Seeing it directly in your face is another story. Something has to be done over there. Somebody needs to step in and take control. The culture of corruption in that country is sickening and can't be changed from the inside. They need outside help. Period.

But the people are so strong and resilient. It's more than admirable. It's inspirational. It's a kick in the face about not being appreciative when what you have far surpasses what others could ever hope for.

It's sickening. I left Haiti feeling sick to my stomach. It's hard to leave the people behind, ya know? I'm going to do what I can to help at least one person there. Hopefully I'll be able to enlist some folks to make a difference too.

On the other hand, Dominican Republic was complete PARADISE!!! I waited the rest of the day after we checked in for someone to come tell us they made a mistake and we were at the wrong resort. It was a 5-star, which we were totally not expecting! LMAO! I was thinking 2 or 3, considering the price we paid. I mean, WOW. I would go back in a heartbeat, even though I got food poisoning on the last day - LMFAO! It was the perfect vacation though. Didn't get much rest but DID GET plenty of relaxation. It was totally awesome.

I want to write so much more about the trip but I feel like if I start, I'll never stop. :-/

Well, now that I don't have CABLE anymore, maybe I should just go ahead and write it all out. Ain't like I got a show to watch or anything. *sniff* I'd had free cable for the last 6 months since I cancelled it earlier this year. The company never deactivated the line. But I knew the day was coming that they'd figure it out. And they did - while I was away. So when I came home Sunday night? No cable.

But this is what I wanted. I wanted to know life without being a slave to the tv. It's been rough so far but I imagine before long, I won't notice it's gone. I would like to get a stereo system and figure out a way to get internet radio streaming through my apartment because I feel like it's too quiet sometimes. I may even hook up my phone to some computer speakers I have. I'm thinking that might could work.... Hmmmm.... :-)

Anywhoo. That's my update for today.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"Until the end of time, I'll be there for you. You are my heart and mind. I truly adore you." - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2016
"Don't touch what's there...when it's the feelings I wear..." - Saturday, Oct. 08, 2016
"I will enter his gates with thanksgiving in my heart, I will enter his courts with praise." - Friday, Oct. 07, 2016
"I tried to run it away. Thought then my head'd be feeling clearer...." - Tuesday, Oct. 04, 2016
"Boy, your money and my money? Ain't the same damn kind. I can live your life and my life AT THE SAME DAMN TIME!" - Sunday, Oct. 02, 2016