TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"I'm addicted to you... I'm addicted to you... I'm addicted to you... You're my addiction."

Monday, Oct. 06, 2008 - 12:58 a.m.

Soooooo...

I am so torn about these apartamentos.

On one side of the street (literally), there's the luxe high-rise with the *gasp*-type view.

On the other side of the street (again, literally), there's the SIMPLE, BASIC, cute, comfy and CHEAP starter apartment.

What to do? What to do?

I think I been talkin' to the Lord so much about it that he is just about through with me. LOL! I was talkin' to him today about it and I could imagine him up there like, "Girl, would you make up your mind!!? I don't want to always have to do it for you!"

*sigh*

I just don't want to make a decision that I'm gonna regret. With the luxury apartment, I'm sure I'll be lamenting over the rent for the entire length of my stay. With the basic apartment, I'll be dreaming of the luxury I could have been experiencing. Why can't it just be simple?

I'm thinking about flipping a coin in the morning. We'll see.

And so then, on Friday night, I hung out with my girl Vita!!! Yay! Her life is so busy now that she's definitely easing on the path to become a doctor. I mean, it was busy before but now it's just INSANE. We went to a caribbean pah-tee. Had a GREAT time. Heard some old school reggae jams neither of us have heard in a MINUTE but we used to go CRAZY for those songs back in the day at school.

Damn, it's been 5 years since college already?!?! Seriously?

I must mention that it felt odd to not have a drink in my hand at any point in the night, but I LOVED it! Even though I only got 3 hours of sleep I woke up the next morning bright and refreshed. It's a shame that that was a foreign feeling. But it did get me to thinking...

I've been scaling back on the drinking - at least the hard stuff, anyway. I am now the chick in the club sippin' on WINE. LOL! But no, seriously. I think I abused my liver enough in the past, oh, 7 years. Why not take a serious break? Friday night really showed me I don't NEED it to have a good time. Hmmm...

Saturday mornin', woke up nice and early to go do an Am.erica.n Can.cer Soc.iet.y Walk for Brea.st Can.cer. I'd only learned about it mid-week. Wish I had known about it earlier. I coulda raised some more money. But I didn't do too bad either way. Raised $255 in 3 days. :-)

I'm thinking about making those events part of my regular routine. 1 every 2 or 3 months or as regular as I can find them. While I was walking, it was really setting in that we were doing it for the people who had died from or were sick with the disease; the ones who couldn't do it for themselves. We were doing it on their behalf.

That knowledge really helped me and 3,000 other folks get out there and STAY out there and walk in the MONSOON (!!!!!!) that occured. OMG, it was raining SO HARD! So. damn. hard. Blinding rain. COLD RAIN. LOL!!! I wasn't miserable because of the circumstances under which we were walking but I SURE WAS COLD!!! LOL! Instead of cursing, I just thanked the Lord for life, health and strength to be able to be out there and doing what we were doing.

Made me really appreciate being alive and having all my faculties and abilities. That disease and many others are extremely serious situations and can absolutely happen to anyone, so for me to be breathing with no problems, seeing with no problems, hearing, touching, walking with no problems whatsoever?! Thank God. For real. Thank God.

I never would have imagined I'd be out in the pouring rain with no shelter for 3.1 miles but I swear I'd do it again in a heartbeat.

I rigged up my car so I wouldn't soak it with me and my wet clothes on the ride home. I was STARVING so I stopped to get something to eat at a drive-thru. The cashier instantly recognized my shirt even though I was seated with the seatbelt stretched across it. She thanked me for doing the walk and sticking through it even in the pouring rain. Gave me a free drink for my participation. LOL!

I was so humbled by her recognition and appreciation, ya know? Like, that's not why I did it. I did it because I wanted to and I felt like it needed to be done. So to be thanked by a complete stranger for it. Man... I tell you, it felt better than nice. :-)

I was so exhausted and just physically drained from dredging through the streets/lakes that when I got home I stripped, ate, hopped in the bed and took it to straight to sleep. Woke up and went to pick up my mom from work. From there, we went to a family function. From ther family function I went to a meeting with my traveling crew about our upcoming trip.

There are SO MANY things to think about when travelling abroad! Geez! Can I get a personal assistant to do it all for me? Please? I just don't feel like it NOR do I have the time. What happened to just waking up, packing, getting on the plane and getting there? What is up with all this pre-preparation? Ugh. LOL!

Anywhoo, Saturday night after the meeting was pretty relaxed. It was still raining so we all just stayed in, ate Italian and watched American Gangster. I swear, I was watching that movie with my mouth hanging ajar just because I was so damn tired. LOL! But after TWO failed attempts to get past the scene where Frank kills the guy by the diner, I REFUSED to not make it to the end of that movie.

Verdict? It was alright. Felt like a lot got left out after a certain point but with it already being 2 hours and 36 minutes... Well, I guess we were done a favor.

Today, I went and looked at the simple basic apartment and relooked at the luxury apartment that I saw last week, which is why I'm in a mental conundrum right now.

*sigh...again*

Like I said, I'ma just harass the Lord again and hope that I have a clear enough head to hear what he has to say to me. He's never led me astray and I never expect him to. If I go astray, it's because of my own poor decision, not anything to do with what he has led me to do. I've been down that road, so I know this to be true.

*sigh, sigh, SIGH*

Alright. Time for me to turn in. I'm starting back up with the 5:15am run tomorrow. That walk renewed my energy.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"Until the end of time, I'll be there for you. You are my heart and mind. I truly adore you." - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2016
"Don't touch what's there...when it's the feelings I wear..." - Saturday, Oct. 08, 2016
"I will enter his gates with thanksgiving in my heart, I will enter his courts with praise." - Friday, Oct. 07, 2016
"I tried to run it away. Thought then my head'd be feeling clearer...." - Tuesday, Oct. 04, 2016
"Boy, your money and my money? Ain't the same damn kind. I can live your life and my life AT THE SAME DAMN TIME!" - Sunday, Oct. 02, 2016