TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"What's to come is better than what's been."

2005-06-18 - 12:43 p.m.

Wow.

These past days since I last posted have been something else.

Since then, KJ-A passed away. He did not make it. I was glad for the scare I mentioned last time because at least we were prepared for his death. He went peacefully and quickly.

Yesterday was his funeral. I was
completely blessed by it. "It is
well with my soul."


I miss him though. I really do.

And now for my testimony. Really, what KJ-A did for me:

Tuesday was the day to go to the cemetery and funeral home to handle the arrangements. Throughout this whole ordeal, I've been totally involved. My mom and I. We were the first to go to the hospital to see him and we were there when he died.

I knew that I would contribute to his
burial in some way. I knew it because
I knew that his parents probably didn't
have the money. I don't either but I
have a credit card that I don't use that has money available so, hey.

So Tuesday came. My aunt (KJ-A's
grandmother) pulled out some money to
pay for the burial. I asked her where
she got the money from. She said that
some (probably most) of it was her rent money. I told her to take the money that wasn't rent money and use that to turn their phone back on (it's been off for a minute). I would pay for the burial.

She told me she couldn't let me do that but I insisted. KJ-A was my cousin and he was special and I love the heck outta him so I wanted to be able to do something for him. I whipped that card out and handled the situation.

We then proceeded onto the funeral home. The owner is a friend of my
mom's so he donated his services, the
family would just be responsible for
the casket, which he was giving at the
cost he had to pay for it. I hadn't
planned on paying for that too but I
was moved to whip out the card again.

It just felt right to do it. The Lord told me to do it, so I did it.

Later that afternoon, I got a call
about a position I had interviewed for
last Thursday. The woman was calling
me in for a second interview. I really didn't feel like going on another interview but I scheduled it for the next morning at 9:00am.

I didn't really think anything of it. At that point, I was delusioned about
going on another interview and I hasn't too sure if the job prospect was gonna work out.

So the next morning, I got up and got

ready with no problems. Headed down to

the interview. Actually thought about

turning around and going home. I can't

remember the reason why. I think I had

a preconception about the nature of the

work and the people in the office. It

all had just seemed a bit stuffy the

week before and I wasn't sure I had

done a good job on the interview, etc.,

etc.

So I get there, find a parking meter

right in front of the building (else I

would have had to pay $8 to park far

away from where I needed to be), a nice

man opened the door for me ('cause I

was locked out), the woman who had

interviewed me the week before got on

the elevator with a bag of chips all

cool and relaxed...it was just some

positive vibes going on.

So we get to her office and she closes

the door. Her first question was if I

got lost finding the building the week

before. I had had no issue with that

and told her so. She then informed me

that, out of all the applicants, I was

the only one who didn't get lost

finding the building.

Next, she told me that this wasn't

really a second interview but an

opportunity for her to tell me about

another position that became available.

I'm thinking she gon' start talkin'

'bout somethin' payin' less than the

position I had interviewed for the week

prior.

She says the same title but also adds

that this position is responsible for a

database their department uses. I was

thinkin' it would be something I

wouldn't be able to handle, even with

my degree, because I'm not too skilled

in modifying databases, etc. Come to

find out, the position would just be

making sure all the info going into it

was correct. Hey, I can do that!

Then she told me that this position

would pay a little bit more than the

other position. The position I

interviewed for the week prior was

paying $32,000 a year. This position

would start between $35,000 and

$37,000.

Huh?!?!

So she offered me the position and, of

course, I accepted.

The whole thing was just so surreal

though. I still can't believe it. I

am very much in shock even though I

start on Monday and this is really

official.

I was sitting there, looking at her

like she was crazy and she's looking at

me like, "Do you have any reaction to

what I just told you?" LOL.

I just don't know what to really say to

it all...

All I know is that this is all God's

work. For real. I was on a dedicated

fast a few weeks ago. Because of what

God has done for me in my life (I've

been unemployed for FOUR MONTHS and

have not missed a payment on ANY of my

many bills the entire time) I wanted to

be a blessing to my aunt and her

family, especially with what they have

experienced. And the Lord saw fit to

bless me with more than I even asked

for.

I asked him for something professional

starting at $28k, but keeping in mind

that I would love $32k so that I could

soon move out of my parent's house and

he gave me $35k with tuition benefits

at my own alma mater so I can get both

of my degrees from there! Wow. For

real!

And I MUST mention the fact that I did

not even apply for the original

position!!! I applied for a secretary

position. Even though I've known I

wanted a professional position, I've

been diligently applying for

secretarial, receptionist and

administrative assistant positions

because I believed it wouldn't be

difficult to get something like that

quickly. I was willing to settle just

to be able to say I had a job. The

lady just happened to come across my

resume and contact me.

And for real, I didn't pay that funeral

stuff to be looked at as no hero or

anything. I did it because I loved my

cousin and I couldn't even think of not

doing it when I had the means to do so

right in my hand. That, to me, would

not have been right.

I thank God for what he has done for me

and especially what he allows me to do

for others in his honor.

It's just really amazing. And I will

be honest and admit that sometimes, I

started to feel like I was asking God

for too much. And not just as far as a

job goes. With KJ-A too. Like I was

asking him for something that was just

too much to ask for. But then I

remembered that he is an awesome God.

And his will will be done in any

situation. Period.

He's great. LOL.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"Until the end of time, I'll be there for you. You are my heart and mind. I truly adore you." - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2016
"Don't touch what's there...when it's the feelings I wear..." - Saturday, Oct. 08, 2016
"I will enter his gates with thanksgiving in my heart, I will enter his courts with praise." - Friday, Oct. 07, 2016
"I tried to run it away. Thought then my head'd be feeling clearer...." - Tuesday, Oct. 04, 2016
"Boy, your money and my money? Ain't the same damn kind. I can live your life and my life AT THE SAME DAMN TIME!" - Sunday, Oct. 02, 2016