TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"Let the rain fall down. I'm coming clean."

2004-04-05 - 9:15 a.m.

So my weekend was real nahs. I really enjoyed myself this past weekend.

Started Friday. Woke up in a rush. LOL. Teleconferenced with my new boss while e-mailing in work... LOL.

Headed out to the radio station to pick up tickets I had won for a charity event. Got lost. Went an exit too far 'cause I was driving like a maniac. But I'm never lost. No, not me. And I was proud of myself because even though I was running late and (not) lost, when a train decided to come and stop traffic, I did not get stressed out. I just took it as God was keeping me from getting to where I was when I was trying to get there for a reason. I understand it.

Took a side road that led me DIRECTLY to where I had been trying to go. B.O.M.B. Got my tickets from the PD, a cutie. Mmm-hmmm. LOL.

Got back to the house and rolled out with my momma and D.

Friday was "Family Skip Day" so we could all go to The Fair ("be there!"). I was the family chaffeur, in charge of driving a van full of getting-old-ladies and their kids (me and my cousins) all the way to the other side of town. The trip was the fastest and I was commended. ("Thank you! Thank you! I do it for my fans!")

We had a GREAT time at The Fair and I ate to my heart's content. After all these years, I've figured out the trick to eating a whole mess of food at the fair - sharing. You have to have an eating partner. Mine was D. So it was all good.

Got home at 5:30pm and hopped in the shower to wash my dirty ass feet (the parking lot at The Fair is dirt. Period.) Damn-near gave myself a pedicure in the shower. LOL.

By 6:10pm, I was out the door, on the way to pick up my new boss's old exhaust from the bike shop. (No wonder my gas has been goin' down! Ridin' around with that heavy-ass exhaust in my damn trunk!) Ended up sitting with him for a while longer than I wanted to. Messed around and missed my ticket-selling shift at the theatre. But they understood.

Hung out over there 'till 10:30pm. Made plans with J & D to go to J's house and get drunk.

Got to J's around 11:15pm, went to two video stores looking for the first season of Chappele's show. Didn't find it at either one. Fell asleep looking at the bottles of unopened liq. Woke up the next morning bright and early feeling fresh and unliquored. It was a good feeling.

Got to Target 'round 8:50am to pick up a gift for D's niece. Got home 'round 9:30am. Had to get all my stuff ready for the charity gala.

Left home, worked at the theatre a bit, picked up my little cousin, went to the party.

Party supposed to start at 2:00pm. I got to the party at 2:00pm. I left the party at 4:30pm. Party hadn't started 'till 4:00pm. Party ended at 7:00pm. For a four-year-old. A bottle of Henny, a bottle of Hyp, a bottle of Grey Goose, a case of Heineken and a case of Smirnoff - at a party for a four-year-old.

Dropped off my little cousin (who was KNOCKED OUT on the way home! LOL!), went by my older cousin's. Got ready and we rolled out to the charity event.

Went in looking nicer than folks who had don' paid $150 each for their tickets! Saw the cutest steel drum player. But I could see the "playa" in his eyes so I had to keep walking on that one. The open bar, basically open everything, was nice. Had a real good time. I love bein' all up in the mix when, on my own, I should have no reason to be. LOL. Nobody was the wiser.

Got home. Fell out.

Woke up crack o' dawn the next morning. Lost an hour 'causa daylight savings. Went to Sunday School, put my foot down with my spoiled aunt, stopped by and saw my old classmate whose brother was killed, went to breakfast and the sto' with my momma. Took a HARD 20-minute nap. Got up and went to the theatre.

Worked it over there for 'bout 3 hours. Went home, changed clothes and headed back out. The party for D's niece left that household with a bunch of raw meat and still some liq left over. Mini-barbeque to finish everything off.

Oh, that was the bomb. Mmmm-hmmm. Spades, dominoes (won on my second time playing!), food, boogaloo (??? - all I know is it damn-near left me knockeddaphuggout), and a baby.

Oh, how could I forget Reggie ("Hey *****!"). Mmm-hmmm. That's all I'ma say about that. No, that's not all I'ma say about that! Nigga make me sick! Wanna kiss a female on the forehead and all that shit! Make me sick!

Wit' his fine ass!

But that event was really the bomb way to end my weekend. It was just so cool. I never really been to a barbeque with just a bunch of young people. There have always been older adults around, which doesn't bother me. But it was just cool havin' a bunch of friends and all the other elements. Yeah, we might make that a monthly event...

Something that came at the very end of the weekend. Well, two things (ALWAYS TWO THINGS!):

1) Yesterday was my one-year anniversary. From this day on, I will no longer think about it.

2) J brought up the fact that neither she nor I had met anyone yet that we would want to even consider having as the father of our children. She couldn't think of one out of her past dealings and I SHO'LL couldn't, mainly because I've never been serious about anybody. Not that I haven't wanted to, just that none has ever even come close to me feeling like he had what I wanted. That's some off the chain stuff to me right there.

And it's not that I'm worried about whether I ever will find someone. I know I will 'cause the Lord has him out there. It's just that, thinking back to the birthday party, me, D and J were the only folks there who had never been pregnant or had to deal with the idea of having a child. That was like "whoa" to me. For real. And I honestly don't want to see myself being pregnant or even thinking about being pregnant anytime soon. I got too much shit I'm tryna do before I call myself ready or even willing to have a child.

I'm proud of myself. *pats me on the back - LOL!!!!* For real though. Not knockin' anybody else, but I'm damn proud of myself, as well I should be. More than anything, I'm happy for myself because I've never had to choose between pursuing things that make me happy and doing what I have to do for the welfare of my child. I'm happy for myself because by the time I find myself in that position, I'll probably be in a position to make a choice that takes care of the needs of my child but doesn't leave me angry at what I couldn't do. 'Cause shit, I'm doin' EVERYTHANG now! LOL.

Anyway, today is really the day I start working seriously at my new job. It's been here and there for the past week and a half but I'm really about to get into it now. And I'm not apprehensive at all. More than anything, I'm looking forward to it. I'm anxious to get going with it.

But that don't mean I'ma stop praying all over it. No sirree.

And with that, I'm out.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"Until the end of time, I'll be there for you. You are my heart and mind. I truly adore you." - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2016
"Don't touch what's there...when it's the feelings I wear..." - Saturday, Oct. 08, 2016
"I will enter his gates with thanksgiving in my heart, I will enter his courts with praise." - Friday, Oct. 07, 2016
"I tried to run it away. Thought then my head'd be feeling clearer...." - Tuesday, Oct. 04, 2016
"Boy, your money and my money? Ain't the same damn kind. I can live your life and my life AT THE SAME DAMN TIME!" - Sunday, Oct. 02, 2016