TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"The first cut is the deepest. Baby, I know..."

2004-03-29 - 10:50 a.m.

So I went by the funeral home on Friday. It was hard. There were a lot of young people there, crying, looking sad. The barbeque man was setting up in the parking lot.

I just walked in with the intention of signing my name and being out but, since the place wasn't packed, I went on up to the casket. It still doesn't seem real that he's gone. Just the thought of him being a young black man... That's what hurts the most.

I called an old friend that knew the young man too. I haven't seen her in 5 years. I hadn't really spoken to her since the end of middle school. But we picked up as if we were back in the days again. I'm looking forward to meeting up with her.

What else happened on Friday? Went to see "Ladykillers" with J. Well, we didn't actually set out to see that movie. We went to the theater just to go, figured we'd find something we could bear watching. "Ladykillers" was the thing coming on the soonest so we went ahead to see it. It was really a funny movie. There were a lot of inside jokes and comments that you had to think about (carotid artery) to catch the humor, so it kept me awake.

After that, we went by Sweet Phil's and chilled. Got up and went home.

Saturday. How did Saturday go? LOL. I woke up at the crack 'o damn dawn just to spend HOURS trying to get my hair done. It was almost ridiculous. I like the place but I'm thinking about changing salons. That place is getting just a little too popular for its size...

After that, I went and did some work at the theatre. I went home hungry.

Called J to see if she wanted to get something to eat and *dun, dunna dun!* realized I could actually drop my car off to get the CD player installed. Yes!!!! Finally!!!!

So that's exactly what I did. D joined us and we all headed out to a so-so meal that brought on niggaitis.

Went to Blockbuster and rented a movie which only J made it through 'cause D dropped off and so did I.

Got up at 6! the next morning to head home to get ready for Sunday School. Went, got breakfast, came home and ate.

Got dressed, headed out to work at my new job.

I'm gonna like this job. I don't even like calling it a job 'cause I don't feel like that's an accurate description. I honestly believe that I am gonna be enjoying what I'm doing. I am already seeing this position making me more of a worker. It reminds me of a lot of stuff I've done that I've enjoyed in the past. So, I'm looking forward to the future.

The hardest thing was turning in my resignation letter. Not that turning it in made me want to be like, "Oh no. I changed my mind." My level of comfort in turning it in made me remember that I truly feel this is the right decision for me. I just felt bad as far as my current company is concerned. But my life is my life. I cannot let my level of happiness be determined by a paycheck. Not at all.

The lack of security at this job does make a female kinda nervous. If anything, at least, I know that I have a lot of skills and a lot of experience that would help me to secure another job, no matter what. I just feel right about this though, so I'm just gon' flow with it.

I'ma ride it on out.

Aiight. Let me get as much as I can done here.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"Until the end of time, I'll be there for you. You are my heart and mind. I truly adore you." - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2016
"Don't touch what's there...when it's the feelings I wear..." - Saturday, Oct. 08, 2016
"I will enter his gates with thanksgiving in my heart, I will enter his courts with praise." - Friday, Oct. 07, 2016
"I tried to run it away. Thought then my head'd be feeling clearer...." - Tuesday, Oct. 04, 2016
"Boy, your money and my money? Ain't the same damn kind. I can live your life and my life AT THE SAME DAMN TIME!" - Sunday, Oct. 02, 2016