TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"Ride out! Ride on out, ya'll!"

2004-02-27 - 11:02 a.m.

Yes I did. Yes I did stay home from work yesterday.

My head was KILLING me! Like, for real killing me. My head was hurting so bad I couldn't bear to think. I still don't know why. And it is still hurting but at least not as bad as yesterday and Wednesday night. It's been bothering me all week but I hope by Sunday, it's all gone away.

'Cause Monday I leave for New York and I ain't tryna' have nothin' messin' up my time up there.

But I will be EXTREMELY pissed if D's cousin doesn't come through with the housing. I won't even want to go anymore. Yes, yes. I'll be walking around with flames going out both ears for weeks maybe. Okay, okay. Maybe just a few days. But I'll be hot about it and, for once, I won't hide my displeasure.

But let me think good, positive thoughts about my trip: "Everything will work out." "The housing will come through." "We'll have a great time in New York."

Okay. That's out there in the universe to be manifested. For real.

But yeah, back to yesterday. My head really was hurting and, considering I hadn't taken a day off since the day after my car accident, I felt I deserved it. So, I took the damn day off.

J wanted to go shopping and I had a shirt I wanted to get to go out to this party tonight so I rolled with her. Yes, my head was still hurting. But I'd never been to this particular mall and I wanted to see if they had what I was looking for.

I ended up finding the perfect shirt. I also got another real cute shirt (sexy, sexy!). I also got some warm leggings ('cause I KNOW I'ma be dying of being cold!) and some long-sleeved shirts. I didn't do too much damage with the credit card. Besides, I'm deeming those expenditures "New York Expenses" - aka I'll be looking at them as part of my New York experience, therefore I won't be killing myself because I spent that money.

I got home around 1:00pm and laid in the bed without sleeping until 4:30pm. I had everything off and my eyes were closed but my head was bothering me so much I couldn't sleep.

I got up and tried to do a few of the million things I have to do this weekend. I only did one. Well, not even one 'cause I only got through half of that project. But at least it's something done.

Left the house right before 7:00pm to go to the theatre.

Got there, worked the door. Handled my business then headed out to the poetry spot.

Got to the poetry spot right before 9:00pm. Had a GREAT time. (Yes, I went even though my head was still killing me.)

Even though it wasn't my intent, I ended up speaking with a few guys. (Mmmm-hmmm. When I ain't even tryin' and especially when I don't feel good, that's when the conversation starts flowing.) Anyway, it was a nice send-off for Miss Pooh.

And the poet, Ainsley Burrows was OFF THE CHAIN! Wow. That's all I can really say. Wow. He's the first poet that I have been able to STARE DOWN and actually talk to while he's performing for like 10 minutes (that's just in case he ever comes across this :P ). He was SO GOOD. And I'm not just saying that. I had no real attraction to him or anything. I'm just saying. He was just OFF THE CHAIN.

And his ish was so abstract but I was still following along, understanding everything.

The man was so good, I was asking him to stop 'cause I really didn't believe I could take anymore of what he was saying. Yes, I was swinging all on a nigga nutsack but what-the-hell-ever. He deserved it. His performance was excellence. Period.

I am really looking forward to next week much more than I thought I would. It's nerve-wracking but it's also the prospect of resting my wracked nerves. I'm running myself ragged and I don't even care and that's not a good thing. I need a chance to realize that, like everybody else in the world, I too need rest. I am not Superwoman and I don't have to fit everything in all the time. I need to miss out on a few things too if it means rest for me. So, that's what I'm gonna do when I get back. Take more me time.

I didn't mention that another careless driver almost hit me today, did I? Yep. I must be a magnet for careless drivers. Fortunately/Unfortunately, the woman did not hit me. I say unfortunately because the truck next to me became her victim. She tore a chunk out of the front right of her own car and the back left of the truck.

I pulled off to the side of the road to make sure she hadn't hit me 'cause the closeness of the whole incident had me kinda confused as to who she hit. I checked out Chocolate Baby Brown and, except for a little torn piece of rubber (that I assume was already like that), he was fine. So, I put my car in gear and moved on. I wanted to stay but I had to get to work and all I could have done was be a witness and there were others who saw what happened so, I pressed on.

There is a big chance I'll be seeing a lot of fine faces tonight. It all depends on what the general spending consensus is of me, J and D. If we do go, it'll be fun. After last night, of that, I'm sure.

Aiight. Ain't nothin' else goin' on but my bills being paid (thank you, Lord!) so I'ma ride out, ride on out.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"Until the end of time, I'll be there for you. You are my heart and mind. I truly adore you." - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2016
"Don't touch what's there...when it's the feelings I wear..." - Saturday, Oct. 08, 2016
"I will enter his gates with thanksgiving in my heart, I will enter his courts with praise." - Friday, Oct. 07, 2016
"I tried to run it away. Thought then my head'd be feeling clearer...." - Tuesday, Oct. 04, 2016
"Boy, your money and my money? Ain't the same damn kind. I can live your life and my life AT THE SAME DAMN TIME!" - Sunday, Oct. 02, 2016