TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"We can rendezvous at the bar around 2."

2004-02-13 - 11:29 a.m.

I finally got up the nerve.

Or should I say, I had to take the opportunity.

There's this guy at the poetry spot that my friends and I go to on Thursday nights. His name is BC.

Back in September or October, he had just moved down to Miami from New York. He's a friend of the host so she introduced him and told all his business. I didn't know all of this when I looked at him walking into the place and said to myself, "I'm gonna marry him one day."

But let me say that I said that only to kinda know what it would feel like to say that, even though I didn't mean it. I just read it so many times in books and crap so I said, "Hey, let me go ahead and say it so I can say I said that once in my lifetime." LOL!

I thought he was very handsome and then found out that he is very intelligent and even funny. None of this from meeting him. Just from observing his interactions with others.

So, I fell out of like with him. Right after I fell out of like, I found out that he is self-employed in a very exciting aspect of the entertainment industry. My interest in that was piqued. I found this out sometime in November. As soon as I found out, I wanted to ask him about it but I never got around to doing it. Kept punking out. LOL.

So last night, me and the girls are leaving. We're outside being harassed by one of the most aggravating commedians I have ever met in my life. While he's babbling, I'm looking down the street and I see BC. I wanted to go say something to him then but he looked to be in an animated discussion so I left that thought alone. We finally got away from the aggravating commedian and headed towards the car.

I turned around to see if BC was still there 'cause I was just gonna go on ahead and speak with him.

By the time I turned around, he was seated on his motorcycle, ready to head out. So, me and Miss Pooh continued on to the car (and ummmm, why?! as we're heading to the car, a taxi driver is following us, talkin' 'bout he gon' park his car and ride with us?! And he was so serious! Ugh! I tell you!).

We finally got to the car and, just as we were preparing to get in, we see BC passing by down the street. I was thinking "another chance bites the dust". LOL.

So, we got in the car and I was gonna go to a gas station in the opposite direction from where we needed to go 'cause I had already come there on an empty tank. But, once I started the car, the needle raised itself back up and I figured I had enough gas to get to my side of town where gas is cheaper.

I pull a Uwee and we head on home. We get to the edge of the street that BC had just passed on and take it, 'cause that's the way I always take to get home from the poetry spot. I turn the corner and who do I see but BC on the side of the road. He must have needed to adjust something on his helmet.

I said to myself, "Self, you gotta do it now." So, I pulled up next to him and asked him to meet me in a parking lot a few feet away. He happily obliged.

I parked and he pulled his bike up next to me on the driver's side. I immediately introduced myself and, just to make sure there was no misconception, clearly stated that I was highly interested in learning more about what he does. Miss Pooh said I kinda threw him 'cause I was all about the business (I'm so good at being about the business!) and not at all about "Ooooh, I love your poetry" ('cause he is a really good poet). I wasn't tryna holla. I was just tryin' to find out the information.

He was very friendly and gave me some contact info which I am definitely planning on using. I don't have any free time but I'll make some to find out more about what he does.

I just like to get my experiences where I can, when I can. This is the time for me to explore different arenas and thangs so I can have a larger pool of careers to choose from. I've had so many different jobs and internships, it ain't funny. I'm just trying to see what fits me so I make the best decision when choosing a career.

So yeah, I'm really happy I was, in a way, forced to speak with him. It was like God was saying, "Okay girl. You keep running away from him so I'm gonna bring him to you."

And this is not about no romance, no hoping he's the one, no hoping this, hoping that. This is all about the business right now in my mind and THAT makes me very happy.

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"Until the end of time, I'll be there for you. You are my heart and mind. I truly adore you." - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2016
"Don't touch what's there...when it's the feelings I wear..." - Saturday, Oct. 08, 2016
"I will enter his gates with thanksgiving in my heart, I will enter his courts with praise." - Friday, Oct. 07, 2016
"I tried to run it away. Thought then my head'd be feeling clearer...." - Tuesday, Oct. 04, 2016
"Boy, your money and my money? Ain't the same damn kind. I can live your life and my life AT THE SAME DAMN TIME!" - Sunday, Oct. 02, 2016