TheForest.Diaryland.Com

"Wouldn't trade you for this whole world. Thankful just being your girl..."

2004-01-26 - 11:58 a.m.

So, after signing all those papers, I am now officially the owner (well, along with the Credit Union, anyway) of a 2002 Honda Civic LX with power windows and power locks (which is a big deal considering my ECHO ain't even have the option of having power nothing).

Yay me. Woop de doo. Whoo hoo.

It's so easy to sense the enthusiasm. LOL.

Not that I'm not happy that I finally found a car that met my standards and I will no longer have to endure the headache that is looking for a car. None of that. It's just the circumstances surrounding this whole situation... But the past is that past, the ass has insurance and I have a car.

I got a bomb deal too. The sales manager thought he was outfoxing me by telling me he would "give" me a 2-year "extended warranty" (that was basically bull-ish 'cause it ain't cover much of nothing) that I wouldn't use 'cause the car is the bomb and basically requires no major maintenance (I researched with dependability in mind.). He said that he would include the $1100 warranty in the price of the car. We left 'cause the deal still didn't seem sweet enough.

My mom and I realized that that "extended warranty" that I wouldn't need would, if removed, take $1100 off of the price of the car. We returned to the dealership and said we would take the deal they last offered but...wedon'twantthe$1100warrantysotakethatoffthepriceofthecarthankyou,goodnight. That man's face said it all. We basically killed $1100 in profit he would have gotten off of us. And he had to honor his own writing and give us what we wanted. LOL!!! I love it!!!

So, I got a 2002 Honda Civic that could be sold for over $13,000 just for the car itself for $11,500 out the door (taxes, title, fees included).

I currently have two cars - the rental (a Galant that I had just renewed for another week on Friday) and my car. I drove the rental today 'cause I'ma get my money's worth outta that thang. LOL! I know, so ghetto. But I just want to take my time with my car too...

But I'm happy 'cause my payments are gonna be right around where they were with the ECHO and I may even have cheaper insurance. It seems as if, in this car experience, a lot of stuff people told me that would be negative about it actually turned out to be the opposite. I heard I wasn't gonna get the car I wanted for a good price, my insurance was gonna go up, this and that... But I held onto God's hand and he worked everything out. Thank you, Lord.

Okay, I guess now I'll recap my weekend since I really want to! LOL.

Friday, ain't much go on. I was supposed to go out but that didn't work. Then, I was supposed to go to a graduation party but I had gotten exasperated with the incompatibility of my television and my DVD player so I just got in the bed and went to sleep - which, honestly, I wanted to do more than anything anyway. LOL.

Saturday, got up. Went car shopping. I actually made the decision to purchase the car on Saturday. I picked it up yesterday. Mayn, I was tired when I got home!!

But Nat's birthday was Saturday and she wanted to enjoy it so we were gonna go out and celebrate. One problem though: she was doing her own pigtails and ain't even finish with the front. So, she couldn't go nowhere looking like a hot mess.

Her main purpose was to get drunk so we decided we'd just chill over J's house and get ugly.

LOL!!! I can't even remember how much I drank. All I know is that I damn-near killed a medium-sized bottle of Absolut all by my damn-self. I also had a decent amount of Parrot Bay and Disarrono Amaretto along with a shot of Bacardi Razz and Bacardi Coco.

I remember the whole night. It's just that the last thing I remember is seeing J's friend Nate's face as he asked me why I was hating on 50 Bitch, I meant 50 Cent, and hearing Lloyd Banks or that other gremlin talking about nothing as usual and then waking up in the middle of the night to Nat hogging the blanket and what I believed was J knocked out too.

I really need to cut out the liq 'cause it ain't right for me to be drinking all that and then get up bright and early the next morning like it ain't nothin'. That's a problem right there.

So, I got up and went home. Cleaned the bathroom. (I love cleaning the bathroom when good music is on! I love cleaning, period, when good music is on!) Went to sign all the rest of the papers and get insurance for the car.

Came home, packed up my mom's car and headed out to my uncle's 50th Surprise Birthday Party (which I was mad I ain't even know it was a surprise party. I coulda easily slipped up and told my uncle!).

That party was sooooooooooooo nice. There were SO MANY PEOPLE in that little house. OH MY GOODNESS!! I am SO SERIOUS! I still can't believe all those people were there at one time.

Yeah, they had a whole buncha muncha people there on New Year's Day but at least then, it was in shifts. This time, everybody was packed in all at once. I barely got a space and I was all the way back in the kitchen!

But it just made me so happy to hear all the good things people had to say about my uncle. And nobody was lying. Everybody was honest and dead serious. He is a good man. I can only dream of having a husband as good as him in my life. It's because of him and my grandaddy that I know what to expect from a husband. 'Cause if they could do it, anybody can.

I didn't even mean to speak about him but I ended up doing so. I had to thank him for being a father figure to me and my cousins. Three sisters were raising their children (6 in total) alone all at once. He, as their brother and our uncle, was always there as support and encouragement and I had to thank him for that. He started crying and that made me want to cry but I held it together and ran back to my spot in the kitchen. LOL.

I had such a good time last night with my family. I love those people. For reala.

I forgot to mention...well two things (ALWAYS TWO THINGS! LOL!) actually. They're both related though. So let me preface this.

Ever since I was 6 or 7, I've been around the theater. My mom got involved with a really small (like, 3 people small) theater company and always had me with her. I was in my first professional production at 9 and continued acting until 15. So, damn-near my whole life, I've been with this theater company - acting, helping out, whatever. They're first production of the year will be starting next week.

1) The Play

This play will be featuring an all-male cast. There's about 7 of them I think. All young black men. Now, that's already cute in itself. LOL.

Come to find out, one of them is a guy I grew up in the company with for a while. He was always so funny and entertaining. I had too much fun with him and the other kids who grew up with the company. School (high school and college) separated us but now, this play will bring us back together. So, I'm looking forward to that.

Another member of the cast was a drummer at the Kwanzaa ceremony I went to on the first day of Kwanzaa. He is a cutie and is into something positive. Not that I'ma be sittin' there, hoping for a chance with him. I'm just happy to be able to see his little handsome face on the weekends. LOL!

Finally, one more member of the cast...

Now, this guy, this is really something else. I qualified for and was awarded a full-tuition scholarship to my alma mater, that's the only reason I went. There was an intense interview for the scholarship. I was so afraid and so nervous and so worried. But all my fears and apprehensions were laid to rest when I went into the interview.

The interviewers were two former students. One, a young Hispanic woman. The other, a young black man. It came out during the interview that we were all Capricorns and, for real, that made a big difference. LOL. The guy was so nice and so was the woman. I left with such a good feeling and outlook just because of the interview, regardless of whether I got the scholarship or not.

So, I got the scholarship (an entry in itself!).

A few months later, I happened to be in Barnes & Noble with my mom and I spotted the male interviewer. Only, he looked a little different. When he interviewed me, he was clean-shaven, low haircut, business casual...basically, Americanized.

Not in Barnes & Nobles. The person I saw had facial hair, a small afro, dashiki... But I saw his eyes and I knew it was him.

I went up to him to say hi and we spoke for a minute. He smiled the whole time. I just really thanked him for the opportunity and let him know that, above all, I enjoyed the interview. He just kept smiling. And kept smiling. And kept smiling.

A sincere smile too!

So, I said goodbye and walked to my waiting mother. He watched me walk all the way to her and out to the car.

A few years later, he came to my U for an event I happened to be participating in for Black History Month. His look had changed even further and I could tell he had changed to an afrocentric, natural lifestyle. He had even changed his name.

He still remembered me and I still remembered him so we spoke for a minute again. And again, he had the biggest smile on his face. And kept smiling. And kept smiling.

Everytime I see him, I get taken back to that happy feeling I had when I left that interview that day.

So imagine my surprise when I found out he would be in the play as well. So, now, I get to see him for the next month or so.

He's gonna flip 'cause people would never even associate me with that company even though I've been with them forever and they are a big part of my life. And I found out that being in one of their productions was something he has wanted to do for a long time.

This whole situation should be interesting...

2) The Office

I usually help the company out by handling the tickets and the door and things like that so I'm there every night the play is going on (it's Thursdays thru Sundays for 4 or 5 weeks).

This time, they want me to be the office manager, which means I would basically be there every night. LOL. They are even gonna pay me which is HUGE 'cause they scrimp and save everyway they can. I've been volunteering my services there whenever I do work.

I'm excited because it's something for me to do outside of work. No more boredom for me. I'll be a busy busy bee. And I love that because the busier I am, the more productive I am. Also, it's money I can save or just do outside stuff with.

So this production has the potential to become a big part of my life for the next month and a half at least. I'm looking forward to it...and the face of the cute lil' drummer boy! Whoo! LOL.

For real though. I'm happy right now. Overall. I'm just happy. And I'm happy to be happy.

I look forward to these next few weeks and not just because of the play or the menzes. I just feel like, soon, I'll be headed towards a better me if I take the right steps. I'm happy for the opportunity.

...which leads me to something I said yesterday to my aunt. (Yes, I will be tooting my own horn.) We were talking about weight and what-not. She and her daughter have embarked on a weight-loss plan through LA Weight Loss. I told her, "I'm supposed to be healthy, I just never had the right opportunity." LOL!

But for real though! I like fruits and even more vegetables than I thought! It's just that the kinds of foods I grew up around did not really include those kinds of things. So, I'm gonna do what I can to take advantage of my affinity for fruit and vegetables and make better choices to get healthy.

Dave Chappelle is a DAMN FOOL! That "Pee On You" video?! CRAZAY!

Aiight. That was a whole heap o' stuff. I think I'ma get to workin' now...

the last - the next

The Trees Today - The Trees I've Seent. - Diaryland.


The Last 5 Trees
"Until the end of time, I'll be there for you. You are my heart and mind. I truly adore you." - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2016
"Don't touch what's there...when it's the feelings I wear..." - Saturday, Oct. 08, 2016
"I will enter his gates with thanksgiving in my heart, I will enter his courts with praise." - Friday, Oct. 07, 2016
"I tried to run it away. Thought then my head'd be feeling clearer...." - Tuesday, Oct. 04, 2016
"Boy, your money and my money? Ain't the same damn kind. I can live your life and my life AT THE SAME DAMN TIME!" - Sunday, Oct. 02, 2016